Skip to content

Sassy, snarky and surreal: I’m (not) a RHJN-viewing professional.

April 30, 2010 \pm\30 1:17 pm

nullAlright, I’ll admit it: I watch a lot of TV.

Some of the more writerly types in my life don’t understand my love for the boob-tube (idiot box electric baby sitter etc. etc.), but I’ve never bought into the philosophy that you’re somehow more literary or academic because you don’t watch television.  Biggest Loser, Law & Order, Intervention, Mad Men, American Idol,  ANTM (America’s Next Top Model, for those of you not in Tyra Banks’ inner circle), Food Network; I could go on and on.  I was raised with TV, and so I keep up the habit.  So what if I think DVR is the technology’s gift to the working man?  Don’t judge.

I do not, however, indulge in the Real Housewife franchise.  Why?  I can’t say.  It just worked out that way.

Maybe it conflicted with my strict preexisting TV schedule, perhaps I was running low on DVR space when it premiered.  For whatever reason, I missed the boat. And now, another opportunity missed.  I could have been a Real Housewives of New Jersey Viewing Professional.

What’s that, you ask?  Craigslist explains: “Don’t lie.  All you do is watch TV.  Yes, you have a job, but it’s not a priority.”

You might be thinking: What sort of voodoo–someone tailored a job just for me?!  However, unless you can commit 25 to 40 hours of your week to writing sassarky (sassy + snarky) blogs about “your show” (that’s right, it could all be yours), and have the “relevant entertainment writing experience,” don’t even think about wasting this Craigslist poster’s time with your untalented, wishy-washy, pop-culturally ignorant, unfashionable thoughts about the classy RHNJ.

This is what the internet (or dare I say the 21st century?)  is all about, really.  It’s all about those little moments–you know, those moments that make you ask the big questions, like “Do I have what it takes to be a RHNJ viewing professional?”

One Comment
  1. May 1, 2010 \pm\31 2:08 pm 2:08 pm

    I’ve given “Real Housewives” a couple shots, and I tune right out. This coming from the guy who was actually bummed when VH1 announced they were moving away from the “Celebreality” format.

Comments are closed.

