Skip to content

Getting to know: Alan Cordle.

May 27, 2010 \pm\31 12:40 pm

Alan Cordle with poet-wife Kathleen Halme at something called the "MOFO brunch" on Mother's Day, 2010 in Portland, OR.

[In which WWAATD asks vapid questions culled from various teen magazines to non-vapid, non-teenager types.]

Full Name: Alan David Cordle (Al’s fine)
Age:
41
Height:
5’11”
Currently Live:
Portland, OR
Hometown:
a strange adolescence in Williamsburg, VA
Instruments:
http://tinyurl.com/29jmctj
Car:
We have one car between the two of us.  It’s a 2007 Chevy Impala we inherited when my father-in-law died a few months ago.  Just sold a 1994 Honda Accord, which was my grandmother’s and mother’s before.  I bike-commute as often as possible, and just this year discovered how good I look in bike shorts.  The catcalls were flattering for awhile, but now I feel like a piece of meat.
Secret Talent:
I’m not sure if it’s the gerbils’ talent or mine

What is the best thing about your job? Summer’s off

What was your most embarrassing audition moment? I played Marley in a musical Christmas Carol in 6th grade.  I was the only one of the soloists who required a backing choir.  That was decided during the audition itself, but at least my great acting skills shined.

If you could live in any past era which would it be and why? I lived through the entire 1970s, but I was 10 when that decade ended.  Don’t get me wrong: roller skating was great, what with limbo, couples only, shoot the duck, and all, but I would’ve liked to go clubbing instead of roller skating.  So does the question allow me to return to the 1970s at say, 19-21 years old?

Who is your role model and why? I like the Yes Men, Wanda Sykes, Michael Moore, and the character played by John Goodman in Treme.  I guess the theme is: people who are sometimes-over-the-top, but with a message. 

Do you have a good luck charm? I have a statue of Ganesh with half a brick attached to the base.  He is thought to place or remove obstacles in one’s life as necessary, but since I’m certain this particular bronze was probably looted from a temple, I’m thinking something will eventually go wrong.

Wackiest fan encounter: My blog used to be housed at Bluehole.org and that apparently generated all sorts of connotations in Russia.  It got linked by this site http://dirty.ru/ and the next thing I knew, I was being photoshopped into numerous odd (compromising) scenes.  They thought I was a really good sport about it all, so they sent me a tee-shirt!

Before I die, I want to: Live abroad for at least a year.

When I fly I have to have: Noise-canceling headphones and zolpidem.

If I had to spend $10 at my favorite fast food joint, I’d order: Burgerville’s Oregon Harvest Burger, Sweet Potato Fries and a Chocolate Hazelnut Milkshake.

My coolest article of clothing: tailored silk shirt I had made on Koh Chang.

My first financial splurge was: I bought a house when I was 23.  You can see it in the film Blue Velvet – it’s in the background when Sandy and Jeffrey sit in the car after they leave the party.

When friends come over, we: Eat, drink, and endlessly digress.

Do you like to cook? If so, what? I like to cook one-pot dishes.  I’m too ADD-challenged to make side dishes.

TV show I never miss: Treme.

If you could interview any celeb whom would it be and why? Sting, so I could mock him.

Anything about yourself you wish you could change? Wish I weren’t balding, but not enough to put chia seeds on my head.


I’ll eat sushi, but not:
Red meat, white meat.  Veggies, fruits, and seameats only.

What are your best and worst subjects in school? English and French.

If you could be granted 3 wishes, they’d be . . . 1. a space tourism trip to the moon, 2. all animals provided guns, and 3. Everyone forced to say please and thank you for one whole day, or they die.

If I could gay-marry anyone in the world, he/she would be…Matt Damon, but I would never allow him to talk to me unless I spoke first.

Where on earth are you most dying to go? India.

What’s the last thing that made you cry? A death.

Do you ever wish you could just be a normal kid? I only wish I could beat up normal kids.

What would people be surprised to know about you? That I lie when asked about my favorite body part.

If you had to name one song as your theme song, what would it be? The Rake’s Song.

Have you had a starstruck Hollywood experience? Who was it with? Andi McDowell sat on my garden wall while filming Shadrach (a William Styron story).  I sat down too, but she was working and I didn’t want to bother her.


FAVORITES
Favorite Actor/Actress:
Johnny Depp (except pirate roles)/Sigourney Weaver (except Avatar).
Favorite Movie:
Spirited Away.
Favorite Body Part:
Opposable thumb (wink).
Favorite Singer:
Annie Lennox.
Favorite Song:
Right now it’s gotta be “Treme Song” by John Boutté.
Favorite Candy:
Sour patch kids.
Favorite Philosopher:
Jack Handy.
Favorite Ice Cream Flavor:
Hazelnut.
Favorite Sport:
Geo-caching.
Favorite Sports Team:
None.
Favorite Athlete:
None.
Favorite Book:
The Complete Stories by Flannery O’Connor.
Cell Phone or iPod: iPod.  I got mine free by selling my soul to some advertising outfit.
Summer or Winter:
Summer.
Ice Skating or Gymnastics:
Ice Skating.
LA or New York:
Portland and New Orleans!
Skiing or Snowboarding:
Nordic skiing and greyboarding.
Chocolate or Flowers: Alpine meadows.
Dogs or Cats:
Cats. I’m a librarian.

Comments are closed.

