Skip to content

Getting to know: Cara Benson.

June 3, 2010 \am\30 10:00 am

[In which WWAATD asks vapid questions culled from various teen magazines to non-vapid, non-teenager types.]

Full Name: Cara Benson
Age: 42
Height:
5’9”
Currently Live:
Upstate NY
Hometown:
Same as Walt Whitman’s
Instruments: Voice, Computer, Piano (dabbler)
Car: Yes
Secret Talent: I’ve got this eye trick I can do, but I show kids all the time when I need to get their attention so it’s not really a secret. This usually happens when I’m a visiting poet in the schools. I learned it watching oh what’s her name on Second City TV. It was a bumper shot on the way to commercial, and she was crossing her eyes moving one to the other side and back. What was her name? I’m going to have to search that. Wait, Andrea something. Yes! Martin. Andrea Martin. Okay I put “Andrea SCTV” in and got the last name. But I was getting there. Want to see the trick?

What is the best thing about your job?
Which job?
What was your most embarrassing audition moment? All of them.
If you could live in any past era which would it be and why? As if there was a past; all spacetime is always concurrently happening.
What do you do for fun? Climb mountains. Watch bad movies.
Do you have a good luck charm? No. I do have talismans, though.
Before I die, I want to: Live.
When I fly I have to have: An airplane.
TV show I never miss: Don’t watch tv. We don’t have it hooked up. We’d have to have something extra out by us to pick up anything. I do catch Colbert Report online sometimes.
If you could interview any celeb whom would it be and why? There are a few multi-billionaires (bankers, politicians, etc.) that I have a few choice words for.
Favorite Movie: Ugh. Just one? This is so variable. My top ten changes all the time. But The Big Lebowski winds up there a lot. Also, the gender-bending phenomenal Some Like It Hot.
Favorite Body Part: Lungs
Favorite Philosopher: I take whatever I can get from many of them. Martha Nussbaum. William James. Kristeva. Derrida and Lacan. Žižek. Looking into Lévinas. Cornel West. Lao Tze. [In a separate email, Cara adds:] And Wittgenstein, of course.
Favorite Book: Can’t do it. Can’t say just one.
LA or New York: You can walk around NY. I think that’s important.
Skiing or Snowboarding: Neither. Instead, hiking. Snowshoeing. Climbing in crampons on glacier.
Dogs or Cats: Both – but! I’ve not lived with dogs. I live with cats. Ed, my cat, feline love of my life.

Comments are closed.

