Skip to content

We who write like we write.

July 16, 2010 \pm\31 12:10 pm

After seeing other’s I Write Like postings go by on Facebook, I decided to try it.

If you live under a rock/not on Facebook, I Write Like takes a piece of your prose writing and compares your vocabulary, sentence-length, and punctuation to a list of 40 famous writers (there’s only 40? wow, I didn’t know that).

So, being the brave soul I am (cough), I plugged in a full chapter of my novel-not-in-progress-really-right-now, and voila! I write like David Foster Wallace. Or at least I did when I was writing that chapter.

People are having fun with this. Which is all it is, we must remember.

Margaret Atwood writes like…

But it was weird when I saw who “I write like” (and I do NOT consider myself one of the “media elite”  hahahahahahahahahahaha dies laughing – you’ll get it if you clicked on the right link) because I was thinking, I’ve never read any of his stuff. But I had. I read Oblivion, his short story collection. But I didn’t remember that right away. It took a few minutes for the aging brain synapses to do their thing. See, I was thinking of reading Infinite Jest when he hung himself. I couldn’t do it then (read it). Then a couple of months later, a poet friend of mine hung himself. And I’ve  not been able to even think about reading any DFW stuff since then. It’s connected in my brain. So, yeah, just fucking weird.

Can’t wait to plug in another chapter. Or maybe this blog post. My to do list?

6 Comments
  1. July 16, 2010 \pm\31 2:29 pm 2:29 pm

    Ummm…I just put in two stories of mine and one said I write like Stephanie Meyer and the other like Stephen King.

    REALLY????!!!?!?!? Please, someone, say it ain’t so! http://bit.ly/b40b4z

    • Robin Elizabeth Sampson permalink
      July 16, 2010 \pm\31 3:29 pm 3:29 pm

      It ain’t so.

  2. Robin Elizabeth Sampson permalink
    July 16, 2010 \pm\31 3:29 pm 3:29 pm

    Ha! IWL says with that there blog post, I write like Agatha Christie. Yup, ’tis a mystery.

  3. Robin Elizabeth Sampson permalink
    July 16, 2010 \pm\31 3:43 pm 3:43 pm

    Even better! Gotta love spoofs. I Actually Write Like…

    According to this analyzer, I write like “a human, although not a human especially familiar with writing.”

  4. Robin Elizabeth Sampson permalink
    July 16, 2010 \pm\31 5:10 pm 5:10 pm

    My husband, a journalist, supposedly writes like H.P. Lovecraft.

    p.s. yes, I like talking to myself, especially in comments.

  5. July 16, 2010 \pm\31 8:42 pm 8:42 pm

    I put in three stories and the first chapter of the novel I’m working on.

    The novel and one of the stories? Ahem. David Foster Wallace.

    Another story? Stephanie Meyer.

    And the third? Raymond Chandler.

    Hmm.

Comments are closed.

