Skip to content

Something about dead fish.

July 23, 2010 \pm\31 2:43 pm

It’s been a little over 4 years since Charles D’ambrosio’s Dead Fish Museum.

I just finished a book last night–Dawn Raffel’s new one–and was sorting through the queue on the nightstand. Raffel’s book made me want to read some more good short stories.

I saw Dead Fish Museum on the shelf in the kitchen. Thought: Damn, that was good. I miss how good that was.

So at lunch today I hunted down this essay from the NYT back around the time of the dying fish. Quite a lovely remembering of the search for home.

The worst part of the deal was when a rat stepped into a trap late at night. It wasn’t easy to locate a crying rat in the dark of that vast warehouse, but I always got up, making my rounds by flashlight. Otherwise it would drive me batty, listening all night, because a trapped rat, believe it or not, makes a horrible high-pitched cry like a very faraway, very tiny lost baby.

Comments are closed.

