Skip to content

Round up: A harrowing tale of Nazi espionage, imperial ambition, and the making of the Oxford English Dictionary.

August 16, 2010 \am\31 11:38 am

  • I absolutely adored Jack London when I was a boy, but I hadn’t thought of him for years until I read this Slate piece, and now I adore him again. Except for the whole violent racism thing. But it just makes him a complex character! Right?
  • Prof. Sharon Lamb hates on modern superheroes in The Guardian, and completely misses the point of superheroes in general: “In contrast, Lamb said the boys could look up to the old-style heroes such as Superman, ‘because outside of their costumes they were real people with real problems and many vulnerabilities.’” And those, my friends, are the words of someone who doesn’t get Superman.
  • PW’s automatic non-fiction subtitle generator: one of my favorite things ever.
  • Eric Hague explains shitty children on McSweeney’s. Yep, this is the future.
  • I was totally going to do a Bukowski thing, but Angela Januzzi beat me to it. Instead, in the vein of the Kafka Marmaduke thread, here’s Peanuts by Charles Bukowski.
  • TOR.com is a thing I should have known about long ago, but was only recently exposed to. This piece about Heinlein and accessibility in sci-fi (via The Rumpus) raises an interesting question: is making sci-fi appealing to new readers “dumbing it down”? How should SF writers respond to the negative social stigma of actually, publically reading SF? As an occasional fantasy writer, I’ve wondered the same thing, and my solution was to circumvent the whole damn genre by writing YA fantasy, which doesn’t have that stigma for young readers or – for some reason – for adults. Which is weird to me. Why is it okay to carry around a Harry Potter book but embarrassing to be seen in public reading R.A. Salvatore?
  • And finally, in a blatant piece of self-promotion, I’m doing a little mid-year music roundup on my other site, The Awkward World. So, you know. There’s some free songs there. And I think it’s pretty good.

Have a super week!

One Comment
  1. Keith S. Wilson permalink
    August 16, 2010 \pm\31 3:18 pm 3:18 pm

    Your posts are quite literally where I get half of all my news, which I then proceed to act as if is common knowledge when I bring it up in conversation, later.

Comments are closed.

