Skip to content

Manhattan is for MOMO.

August 22, 2010 \pm\31 1:14 pm

A lot of you guys are from NYC so I guess you already know about Momo, right? Did you know he tagged the map of Manhattan, end to end with a bike and some paint? Learn more at the irreverent blog, Defaced.

What drives me about kids doing the doing is two things: the idea and then the will. From where are these things born? What makes Momo Momo, and what makes me me, sitting home in awe of Momo? I suppose it’s what renders invalid that old argument against certain kinds of art, “my child could do that.”

‘After the jump’ an unrelated video found at MOMOSHOWPALACE that begs you make your hands dirty.

4 Comments
  1. Keith S. Wilson permalink
    August 22, 2010 \pm\31 6:46 pm 6:46 pm

    Don’t live in New York. Never even been. So….. did this dude get in trouble for that line?

    • August 22, 2010 \pm\31 7:53 pm 7:53 pm

      i don’t live in NYC either, but i used to go once or twice a year when i lived in MIA. sometimes, it really does feel like the center of the universe, huh?

      i don’t know if he got in trouble? doesn’t seem like it.

      • Keith S. Wilson permalink
        August 23, 2010 \am\31 12:00 am 12:00 am

        Maybe it’s lame of me, but the first thing I thought of was getting in trouble. I mean, he tagged the entire city, and it seems he’s claimed it.

        It’s sort of awesome, in it’s own way, though also, kind of messed up. I mean, if he tagged my sidewalk, I’d be sorta pissed, I’m sure.

  2. August 23, 2010 \am\31 6:51 am 6:51 am

    haha, i have to say getting in trouble didn’t occur to me until you mentioned it. looking at the video, the line is quite thin, hardly seems noticeable? only if you traced the entire path would you realize that is spells out ‘momo’. seems almost too creative for punishment?

    i read something somewhere (i have a terrible memory) that said something like: freedom in america just means safety, like protection of private property. this makes me think of that.

Comments are closed.

