Skip to content

A moment of satisfying self-promotion.

September 21, 2010 \pm\30 12:30 pm

Friends, apothecaries, harpists, myrrh-growers:

Guess what? I’m reading the works of Benjamin Franklin, which I found for free at Family of Woodstock. Franklin says things like: “What maintains one Vice, would bring up two Children.” Which reminds me. My friend, the celebrated memoirist Gillian Kendall, and I are presenting a weekend of extraordinary user-generated intellection. It is called… [let me look it up on the website]… “Magic Tricks! Writing the Tragicomedy of Your Life.” It’s a type of “retreat,” November 5-7, at the Rowe Camp and Conference Center, on a secluded stretch of foresty hillocks near the border of Vermont, but IN Massachusetts.

Gillian and I will answer, once and for all, the question of How to Write a Case History of Oneself — a problem Freud himself never resolved. Here, see the whole “weekend description” for yourself:

http://www.rowecenter.org/schedule/current/20101105_GillianKendall&Sparrow.html

Nice photographic portrait of me, don’t you think? I look like Algernon Charles Swinburne after a visit to his dry cleaner. But enough about me. Let’s talk about you. Are YOU going to spend your hard-earned cash on this highly uncertain weekend? Yes, you are!*

Please feel free to e-mail me bothersome questions about exactly what this retreat really is.

Meanwhile, here is my recent poem:

My Life

All day,
I am idle.

But in my
dreams,
I work.

Assertively,
Sparrow

*Pardon me, I just graduated from a course at the Learning Annex on “Positive Thinking and Coercion.”

3 Comments
  1. September 21, 2010 \pm\30 12:57 pm 12:57 pm

    Sparrow, this has nothing to do with your retreat (which sounds awesome and if I were anywhere near MA I’d be there), but I’d just like to point out that I own the “I’m already against the next war” sticker. In fact, it’s on my laptop in that there profile picture. Small world.

  2. September 22, 2010 \am\30 6:11 am 6:11 am

    this sounds horrible for a socially anxious reclusive misfit such as myself. i want to be there so bad!

  3. Robin Elizabeth Sampson permalink
    September 22, 2010 \pm\30 1:59 pm 1:59 pm

    Damn! Wish I weren’t broke.

Comments are closed.

