Skip to content

Getting to know: Amy King.

September 24, 2010 \am\30 10:00 am

[In which WWAATD asks vapid questions culled from various teen magazines to non-vapid, non-teenager types.]

Full NameAmy Lynn King
Age: Yes, daily.
Height: No thank you.  Ground level, please.
Currently Live: For a few more decades, fingers crossed.
Hometown: Stone Mountain, GA & Baltimore, MD (I was a latchkey kid).
Instruments: Trombone, bugle, pen, computer.
Car: When the urge strikes.  Or an appointment.
Secret Talent: My sense of humor unearthing itself.

What is the best thing about your job? Ruling the classroom with a glass façade.
What was your most embarrassing audition moment? Karaoke, the past and the future.
If you could live in any past era which would it be and why? The 40s when Swing was born.  Because I’d like to stalk a few musicians and singers.  A handful of writers too.
Who is your role model and why? Claude Cahun for the moment.  She did her own damn thing and wasn’t in it for the money or fame.
What do you do for fun? Drink wine and go places.  Write heat-seeking poesy.
Do you have a good luck charm? Ana Bozicevic.
Wackiest fan encounter: Drunk once at a private party called, “The Bitches Lounge,” I queried Bill Maher, several times (directly under his nostrils), that wasn’t he “that actor…?” He didn’t seem to enjoy my interest. Oh, in George Plimpton’s kitchen years ago, I drunkenly sparred with Anthony Haden-Guest of Studio 54 fame.  Mr. Plimpton finally intervened, took my hands in his very large ones, and asked me to let him know if Anthony wasn’t being a gentleman.  I think he may have been surreptitiously trying to stop the bout as a small crowd had gathered around us in the kitchen; his approach was strikingly soothing. That’s two – am I fired?
Before I die, I want to: Go international.
When I fly I have to have: My wits about me.  I don’t want to fall into reverie and get too close to the sun.
If I had to spend $10 at my favorite fast food joint, I’d order: The two sushi roll lunch special.  That’s the fastest joint I go to.
My coolest article of clothing: Assless chaps.  And my turban, only for special occasions though.
My first financial splurge was: College.
When friends come over, we: Get rowdy.  Naw, I subject them to the latest documentary that’s taken my fancy.  And they only wanna hang out and talk, the nerve.
Do you like to cook? If so, what? I like to eat what the cook cooks, so long as it’s edible.  I can make a good curry when it suits.
TV show I never miss: Well, TV shows I sometimes catch are House, Sons of Anarchy, True Blood, The Closer, and a couple others, I think.
If you could interview any celeb whom would it be and why? Obama.  I’d ask him to talk poesy and literature so that he would be swayed into publicly declaring why liberal arts education is terribly integral to the integrity of this country.
Anything about yourself you wish you could change? I’d like to weigh a little more.  And to shirk my road rage.
I’ll eat sushi, but not: Snot.  Venison.  This computer.  Your share of the air.
What are your best and worst subjects in school? I don’t ace any of ’em.  I’d be a good detective, so maybe Forensics?  I suck at Chemistry – it just can’t keep my attention.
If you could be granted 3 wishes, they’d be…  Pass.  This is too psychologically and cleverly involved.   I’m not at the moment.
If I could gay-marry anyone in the world, he/she would be…  my girlfriend.  But if I had to marry straight, I’d probably marry Oprah.
Where on earth are you most dying to go? Right now, Paris or Barcelona would be nice.  I could stand to frolic in some Tuscan fields too.
What’s the last thing that made you cry? The realization that my fave Miss Marple, Joan Hickson, had died at age 92 but I was still watching her do her thing and that she clearly had done what she loved.  Kind of like Betty White, who is still with us.
Do you ever wish you could just be a normal kid? Nope.  I got over that when I disowned my parents early on, and most other supposed genetic predispositions.
What would people be surprised to know about you? I’m not that smart but I’m fairly clever.  I don’t have a lot of information, but I can move what I’ve got.  I like to fuck with folks who have me “pegged.”  I was damn good on my college debate team.   I listen to the Dixie Chicks and Toby Keith, who are avowed mortal enemies.  I should feel shame but don’t.   I’m a photographer.   I’m a poet and a renewable resource.  Otherwise, I’m pretty relaxed.
If you had to name one song as your theme song, what would it be? Right now The Jeffersons’ theme is currently playing in my head, although I’d never live on the upper east side.
Have you had a starstruck Hollywood experience? Who was it with? What does that mean?  I stalked Margaret Atwood via her Toronto haunts once.  Her novel, The Handmaid’s Tale, was made into a movie.  Does that count?

FAVORITES
Favorite Actor/Actress: Patricia Clarkson – god, she deserves more challenging roles!
Favorite Movie: “Antonia’s Line” gets me tingly warm.
Favorite Body Part: The one that makes me go Vrooom!
Favorite Singer: Bonnie Prince BillyNeko Case.  Billy Holiday.
Favorite Song: Tonight — “New Paris” by Strand of Oaks.  “Galveston” by Sparklehorse.  “Laundry Room” by The Avett Brothers.
Favorite Candy: I don’t “do” candy.  No, I could stand some peanut butter and dark chocolate right about now.
Favorite Philospher:   Wittgenstein.  No, Judith Butler.  No, Laura Riding Jackson.  Nope, better make that James Baldwin.
Favorite Ice Cream Flavor: PB and Chocolate.
Favorite Sport: Poetics.
Favorite Sports Team: Pussipo.  VIDA!  Check them out!
Favorite Athlete: Billie Jean King.  Marlene Dietrich.
Favorite Book: Collected Cesar Vallejo.
Cell Phone or iPod: No thanks.
Summer or Winter: Straight up Summer lakes and grass!
Ice Skating or Gymnastics: Broken coccyx or hospital traction?
LA or New York: Upstate New York, close to a train in.
Skiing or Snowboarding: A glass of wine at the local chalet, a pitch-perfect perch to watch the action from whilst making my own action via grey cells, paper and pen.
Chocolate or Flowers:  All of the above.
Dogs or Cats: Chihuahua, Pomeranian and Great Dane!

One Comment

Trackbacks

  1. We Who Are About to Die: « amy king’s alias

Comments are closed.

