Skip to content

Hint, hint.

October 22, 2010 \pm\31 7:13 pm

This week, which is another bead on a string of weeks not writing my novel, I have received three e-mail announcements for wispy prose, coming as a harsh sentence on laziness. I feel bullied. I am breathless. These writers are/have to be experts at knowing what the story is and withholding the right parts, so that the reader fills in the rest. It’s kind of collaborative without actually having to communicate any results or get approval or even, admit to getting it right.  I wish I could have done shy book reports in grade school this way. Norton has added a new fiction anthology to their sneeze-and-you-miss-it bookshelf of sudden, flash and micro with Hint Fiction: An Anthology of Stories in 25 Words or Fewer, by Robert Swartwood, the judge for SmokeLong Quarterly’s chubbier 30-word story contest. I’m not sure why I feel devoured by such a genre, but I do. Nonetheless, I’m going to give it a try and use Monday night’s strangely satisfying New York Gubernatorial debate broadcast on NY1 as material for a blink satire.

3 Comments
  1. October 23, 2010 \pm\31 2:22 pm 2:22 pm

    You’re blogging now? Make that a large ruby pendant on the string of weeks!

    Welcome.

    • Amy Holman permalink*
      October 25, 2010 \am\31 1:31 am 1:31 am

      Thanks, Melissa. It’s true that a blog will give me a public responsibility to write.

  2. Robin Elizabeth Sampson permalink
    October 23, 2010 \pm\31 6:07 pm 6:07 pm

    Welcome Amy!

Comments are closed.

