Skip to content

Woman down, Sharron Angle! (redux).

October 27, 2010 \pm\31 5:25 pm

Back in aught-six, I wrote a post about the rise of the “Man up.”  Well the term is rearing (hee-hee) it’s ugly head (haw-haw) these days. Back then, it was mostly used by sportscasters. Before that I remembered it from high school soccer practice (circa 1982), meaning to cover one’s opponent on defense. Now, it’s a fave of female Tea Party candidates to highlight the effeminate nature of their their overeducated, overarticulate “male” opponents. Feeling ‘specially inarticulate today myself, I can’t find a way to point out how obviously misogynistic and self-loathing and hypocritical this particular man-uppage is without plagiarizing from Colbert’s show the other day, so I’ll just send you to him for more. Oh and hey, if you haven’t ever had a proper introduction to the genius of St. Stephen, please please please start with this, on how to destroy same-marriage.

(While searching for a mucho mas macho image than the one I eventually chose than the one I eventually chose, I came across this post, presumably comedic, about a planned “man-up march”; said post suggested that, re manning-up, one should ” Grab life by the dick-straps and make it yours.” I thought you’d want to know.)

4 Comments
  1. Chris Connelly permalink
    October 27, 2010 \pm\31 7:11 pm 7:11 pm

    Always great to read you. Perhaps the new writing space will inspire you. Looking forward to more. Cheers.

  2. October 28, 2010 \am\31 10:41 am 10:41 am

    Okay, so I’m not the only one who thinks marking man-to-man defense when I hear the term. It’s funny, ‘cus me and a guy in the office were discussing the meaning after (over) hearing the term used in a cell phone conversation…. in that context it seemed to mean “take responsibility” instead of “take steroids.”

    • October 28, 2010 \am\31 10:52 am 10:52 am

      I was so horrible at basketball as a boy I think I tried to shut it out of my mind. But yes, I think you both are right.

      • October 29, 2010 \am\31 11:32 am 11:32 am

        so diplomatic of you. man up and take a side, daniel. except, well, the Nocklebeast and I weren’t disagreeing. but still.

Comments are closed.

