Skip to content

Getting to know: Anne Trubek.

October 29, 2010 \am\31 10:00 am

"I am a seriously good pinball player."

[In which WWAATD asks vapid questions culled from various teen magazines to non-vapid, non-teenager types.]

Full Name: Anne Raquel Trubek
Age: 44
Height: 5’8”
Currently Live: The glorious inner-ring suburb of Shaker Heights, OH
Hometown: Madison, Wisconsin
Instruments: Trombone, Recorder
Car: If I said Prius would everyone laugh?
Secret Talent: I am a seriously good pinball player

What is the best thing about your job? Getting to spout off about stuff.
What was your most embarrassing audition moment? Trying out for the musical Annie as a kid. I have curly red hair and freckles, so I thought I was a shoe-in. Sadly, I have this whole singing weakness.
If you could live in any past era which would it be and why? As a Jew, this one is always tough to answer. As an American I think the 1890s were a really interesting time of cultural/social/economic change. Also, I kinda have a thing for the old left of the 30s.
Who is your role model and why? I asked a few people for the answer to this but no one delivered.
What do you do for fun? Stare at weeds in my garden and imagine them as the beautiful flowers they were meant to be
Do you have a good luck charm?
Wackiest fan encounter:
Before I die, I want to: Not worry about it.
When I fly I have to have: People magazine.
If I had to spend $10 at my favorite fast food joint, I’d order: I tried to answer this question but it is too many for me.
My coolest article of clothing: On my 19th birthday, my boyfriend gave me a t-shirt from the bar we always hung out at (It was legal, then, to drink at 19). It was the 602 Club in Madison, Wisconsin. It had long been a lefty hangout, and it was the classic dive bar. Dank, and they cleaned off one of the tin tiles on the ceiling so you could see the contrast between the real color and the nicotine stained gray of all the other tiles. Anyway, the t-shirt is similarly dank, olive green with dull orange lettering. On the front it says “The 602 Club” and on the back “Leave me alone, will ‘ya” to represent the bar’s m.o. 25 years later I not only still have that t-shirt but it is still my go-to workout shirt. It is indestructible. Unlike, sadly, the bar, which closed down.
My first financial splurge was: I paid some $ and collected Bazooka bubble-gum comics for a toy.
When friends come over, we: Talk about boys
Do you like to cook? If so, what? I make a mean biscuit.
TV show I never miss: Survivor. And that it my only tv watching ritual w/my son is just an excuse. I love it.
If you could interview any celeb whom would it be and why? Jonathyn Rhys-Meyers because I know he’s sexy and suspect he’s an asshole.
Anything about yourself you wish you could change? The balance in my checking account.
I’ll eat sushi, but not: Humus. Isn’t that silly? I mean, who doesn’t like humus?
What are your best and worst subjects in school? Gym (best); Chemistry (worst).
If you could be granted 3 wishes, they’d be… Oh I know the answer to this! I’d wish for a gazillion more wishes!
If I could gay-marry anyone in the world, he/she would be…
Where on earth are you most dying to go? Bhutan.
What’s the last thing that made you cry? Just before I started this interview I cried during this touching drug-love moment between Walt and Jesse in Season 2 of Breaking Bad.
Do you ever wish you could just be a normal kid? What are you implying?
What would people be surprised to know about you? I speak Portuguese.
If you had to name one song as your theme song, what would it be? I am too complex to be theme-driven.

Have you had a starstruck Hollywood experience? Who was it with? I had a long conversation with Rufus Wainwright about how I thought he should make Theodore Dreiser’s Sister Carrie into an opera.

FAVORITES
Favorite Actor/Actress: Lily Tomlin.
Favorite Movie: I don’t pick favorites b/c I don’t want to hurt the feelings of other movies,   but I’m always up to watch John Cusack in anything.
Favorite Body Part: Small of the back.
Favorite Singer: How could one not say Bob Dylan?
Favorite Song:
Favorite Candy: Twizzlers. But I can’t eat them because they make my jaw ache.
Favorite Philospher: Go Ludwig Wittgenstein!
Favorite Ice Cream Flavor: Mint Chocolate Chip.
Favorite Sport: Soccer.
Favorite Sports Team: Green Bay Packers.
Favorite Athlete: Jim Brown.
Favorite Book: I cannot answer this. Again, I worry about the other books. But I can tell you the most memorable book I read in the last 12 months is Hilary Mantel’s Wolf Hall. And the   book I’ve probably reread the most is Edith Wharton’s House of Mirth.
Cell Phone or iPod: iPod.
Summer or Winter: Fall.
Ice Skating or Gymnastics: Ice Skating.
LA or New York: New York.
Skiing or Snowboarding: Cross-Country Skiing.
Chocolate or Flowers: Chocolate covered nasturtiums.
Dogs or Cats: Cats.

Comments are closed.

