Skip to content

Getting to know: Kathleen Rooney.

November 5, 2010 \am\30 10:00 am

Rooney, not nekkid.

[In which WWAATD asks vapid questions culled from various teen magazines to non-vapid, non-teenager types.]

Full Name: Kathleen Marie Cecilia Rooney
Age: 30
Height: 5 feet 8 inches
Currently Live: Chicago, IL
Hometown: Woodridge, IL
Instruments: Kazoo
Car: Trek Bike
Secret Talent: posin’ nekkid

What is the best thing about your job? Working in a structure known as “The Cheese-Grater Building”
What was your most embarrassing audition moment? Every moment spent auditioning to write for Groupon (I got an offer, but politely declined).
If you could live in any past era which would it be and why? The fin de siècle because: decadence.
Who is your role model and why? My sister Beth Rooney; she goes there.
What do you do for fun? Clubs. Book club. Movie Club. Dinner club. I have a thing for organized fun.
Do you have a good luck charm? Skull-and-crossbones pirate socks
Wackiest fan encounter: When I was doing a reading in Charlotte, NC, a quiet middle-aged gentleman showed up and gave me a sketch of my face that he’d done from my picture in the newspaper, but didn’t stay for the actual reading. And this was for Reading with Oprah, not Live Nude Girl.
Before I die, I want to: Upload the contents of my brain, so I can live on forever as pure information.
When I fly I have to have: A copy of Vanity Fair for when I’ve exhausted the possibilities of SkyMall.
If I had to spend $10 at my favorite fast food joint, I’d order: All the employees to lie on the floor while I cleaned out the register.
My coolest article of clothing: My bike helmet, obviously. Safety = cool.
My first financial splurge was: Did you know that “splurge” probably comes from a blend of the English words “splash” and “surge”?
When friends come over, we: cook elaborate and semi-competitive themed dinners.
Do you like to cook? If so, what? See above. And see this link, and this one, for some of said elaborate themes.
TV show I never miss: I miss them all.
If you could interview any celeb whom would it be and why? Gwyneth Paltrow because she once said “I’m really fucking good at my job, and people who are interesting and good know that,” and I’d want to get her to say more stuff like that.
Anything about yourself you wish you could change? I’d become more readily able to adopt the persona of a teen idol when filling out standardized questionnaires.
I’ll eat sushi, but not: Meat (is murder).
What are your best and worst subjects in school? OMG, I suck at math. But I totally own yearbook.
If you could be granted 3 wishes, they’d be: First—duh!—I’d wish for infinite wishes. Then: look out!
Where on earth are you most dying to go? The moon. Oh, wait.
What’s the last thing that made you cry? Reading the YA novel Mockingjay by Suzanne Collins; I’d try to explain why, but it’d be too much of a spoiler.
Do you ever wish you could just be a normal kid? That would not be a wish I’d wish for with my infinite wishes.
What would people be surprised to know about you? Um…that would spoil the surprise?
If you had to name one song as your theme song, what would it be? “Buffalo Stance” by Neneh Cherry
Have you had a starstruck Hollywood experience? Who was it with? I ran into Bronson Pinchot once at this bar in Boston called the Tam, where I was drinking with a bunch of grad school friends. We were all drunk and semi-dazzled by his celebrity, and at first we couldn’t believe it was him. So we decided the way to determine his authenticity was to ask him a series of difficult questions, including, “What was the name of the movie that you were in with Christian Slater and Dennis Hopper?” as if nobody else could ever answer that. To which he was all “True Romance!” Then we knew it was truly him. He was in the play Stones in His Pockets at some theatre up the street and he ended up giving us a bunch of free tickets so we all went to go see him in it later that week.

FAVORITES
Favorite Actor/Actress: Clint Eastwood/ Bette Davis
Favorite Movie: Ladies and Gentlemen, the Fabulous Stains
Favorite Body Part: Nose
Favorite Singer: Elliott Smith
Favorite Song: “Idiot Wind” by Bob Dylan
Favorite Candy: Ritter Sport Marzipan Chocolate
Favorite Philospher: Marx n’ Engels
Favorite Ice Cream Flavor: Pistachio
Favorite Sport: Badminton in the Alley (aka Streetcock)
Favorite Sports Team: I’d like more sports teams if their names were more like those of African national football teams, such as the Indomitable Lions or the Super Eagles.
Favorite Athlete: Johnny Weir
Favorite Book: Wuthering Heights by Emily Brontë
Cell Phone or iPod: cell phone
Summer or Winter: Fall!
Ice Skating or Gymnastics: Ice skating
LA or New York: Chicago
Skiing or Snowboarding: skiing, but only if it’s cross-country
Chocolate or Flowers: flowers made from chocolate—whoa.
Dogs or Cats: Dogs all the way.

Comments are closed.

