Skip to content

“Every snack has its price.” Lovely.

November 8, 2010 \am\30 3:19 am

So this is the kind of horrific infuriating crap I used to write about in my old blog. This is a fucking health insurance company telling women they’re fat pigs who’re gonna die if they eat a fucking piece of cake. Or do I exaggerate? I don’t think I do. Saw it on TV on Sunday.  I could not believe it. I don’t know why I could not believe it, but I could not believe it. Disgusting. Sorry, I’m not being very clever about this one. Maybe if some of y’allz comment I’ll comment back wittily. Right now I’m just too grossed out.

6 Comments
  1. November 8, 2010 \pm\30 12:03 pm 12:03 pm

    So far, I’ve had two friends (both men) over on the Facebooks, write saying that they approve of the ad. I responded.

    “Really? Kevin, I understand that you’re in the medical biz and obesity is a big issue, but to me, if that’s the message they’re trying to get through, it utterly fails. And Kirk, well, again, I see your point, but I think this isn’t giving the message “be healthy” but rather “you are an awful person for enjoying a snack.” And yes, Kirk, as you mentioned, why IS it only women in the ad?”

    Am I nuts, here? I really thought everyone would be as shocked and disgusted as I am.

  2. November 8, 2010 \pm\30 3:34 pm 3:34 pm

    hi jamie, i wish i could muster some of your same enthusiastic outrage because it looks like fun, but ever since i lost my TV in a fire four years ago and just started watching whatever i like online, i just feel so placid with myself it’s almost sort of boring. call them bitches, take away their chocolate cake, it all seems so far removed from my life, i don’t know, i can’t be the only one feeling this way? i worry about like, getting out of bed in the morning because it all seems so fucking futile (maybe i am having a nervous breakdown right in the WWAATD comments?! that would be kind of sweet i think…)

  3. November 8, 2010 \pm\30 4:34 pm 4:34 pm

    keep it as far removed as you can, ani, keep it away away away if you can make that choice.

  4. David permalink
    November 8, 2010 \pm\30 8:02 pm 8:02 pm

    This ad is not a stand-alone, but part of a series, in which both men and women do things that are potentially harmful to their health–from neglecting to wear sunscreen to taking prescription pills (without a prescription).

    I do think your response to the ad you’ve singled out is excessive. I read the text differently: there are no men in the ad not because men don’t make bad choices when it comes to food, but because women care more about what they eat. And they care about eating well for a variety of reasons, not all of them tied to our culture’s weight obsession. Many women eat well because they see their health as tied directly to their health of others. This is obviously the case for pregnant women, but also applies to women who wish to become pregnant and women who are nursing their children.

    In that light, the ad portrays men negatively. The ad points out that men feel divorced from a responsibility to be healthy, which shouldn’t be the case, and maybe reflects the fact that men not caring about what they eat is perversely considered manly. Big burgers, big glasses of beer, nachos, etc., are foods associated with men. I don’t suggest this is good. And as a man, I find it obnoxious to see that stereotype reinforced so often.

    I found it interesting that the women in the ad were of different body types, and that the woman who starts off the ad looks to me to be potentially too thin. That suggests to me that Tufts may not just be talking about weight. Eating a brownie with whipped cream is never a better choice (in terms of physical health) than eating an apple, as the animated characters do at the end of the ad. Thin or fat. Weight conscious or not.

    Lastly, it’s my impression that Tufts Health Care’s main market is women. So their ads are likely to feature actors who will appeal to the company’s market.

    Most ads for healthy foods feature women. How offensive are the ads for yogurt where the woman goes on to her friend about eating Key Lime Pie and other assorted pastries while her husband rummages through the fridge frantically looking for these sweets?

    I don’t think you’re completely wrong, but you asked if your response is excessive, and I say yes, absolutely.

  5. November 9, 2010 \am\30 2:05 am 2:05 am

    Wow that’s one huge cake-y mouthful o’ rationalization.

  6. Andy permalink
    November 9, 2010 \pm\30 9:16 pm 9:16 pm

    I came across this today and thought of your post right away.

    “He showed the words “chocolate cake” to a group of Americans and recorded their word associations. “Guilt” was the top response. If that strikes you as unexceptional, consider the response of French eaters to the same prompt: “celebration.”
    — Michael Pollan

    To me, getting outraged about advertising seems to be a distraction for more tangible issues of feminism. Within that medium, though, this piece (one of the Dove “Real Beauty” ads) seemed to me to hit the bigger issues hard – and in a good way.

Comments are closed.

