Skip to content

Ken Sparling on Ken Sparling.

November 11, 2010 \am\30 11:03 am

 

Ken Sparling reviews a story by Ken Sparling 
from [C:] an mlp stamp stories anthology

I like magic and I like wind. There’s no wind in this story, and there’s not really any magic, either, but there is the promise of magic. I like that Sparling mentions magic in this story, but I wish he would have come through with some actual magic. I guess maybe what Sparling is trying to say is that there is magic in the stupidest things, like when the TV is off and you see yourself reflected in it, like magically you are on a TV show which is just a dark shadow of your living room with you in the middle, like the star of a show no one sees but you. But I think that’s giving Sparling too much of the benefit of the doubt. I think probably he wasn’t trying to say anything. I don’t think Sparling has anything to say. That’s what I love about Sparling. He has absolutely nothing to say, but he never shuts up. Anything I get out of a Sparling story is only ever going to be me reflected back at myself. It’s like Sparling’s stamp story is the frame of a broken TV and the only thing I can ever hope to get out of this story is a reflection of me in the dark frame of Sparling’s story.

3 Comments
  1. November 11, 2010 \pm\30 12:05 pm 12:05 pm

    i love it when people have nothing to say. (can’t wait to get this anthology!)

  2. November 12, 2010 \am\30 12:07 am 12:07 am

    I was surprised by how much I could like a review of a stamp story. Even though this wasn’t so much a review as a musing that included the wonderful image of myself framed in a broken television.

    Sometimes writing is so cool.

    • November 12, 2010 \am\30 10:02 am 10:02 am

      Yes, we have an avalanche of these “reviews” impending. What I like about them is that some of them are up to three pages–and the stories are all under 50 words.

Comments are closed.

