Skip to content

Getting to know: Eboni Hogan.

November 12, 2010 \am\30 9:55 am

[In which WWAATD asks vapid questions culled from various teen magazines to non-vapid, non-teenager types.]

Full Name: Eboni D’Nay Hogan
Age: 25
Height: 5’5
Currently Live: Chi City
Hometown: New York
Instruments: I used to be able to play a mean rendition of “Jesus Loves Me” on the keyboard.
Car: N/a. My credit is atrocious.
Secret Talent: Shakira impersonations…pre cross-over album.

What is the best thing about your job? For anywhere between 3 and 45 minutes, an entire room of people become a part of my world, however sick and manic it is. And I get paid to do something I’d probably do for free anyhow.
What was your most embarrassing audition moment? While auditioning for a theater piece that required some advanced combat skills (which I don’t have), I got thwacked in the mouth with a length of PVC piping. Don’t ask me why they had 15 women in a room simultaneously swinging reinforced plastic pipes at one another. Ask me how it is that I left with a busted lip and still didn’t land a role.
If you could live in any past era which would it be and why? Thought you’d never ask. Early 1950’s. But only if I could be a pin up girl.  A sort of Creole Bettie Page.
Who is your role model and why? My pops. He came from a family that didn’t have much. Started out as a paper boy and eventually ran the southeast division of a major corporation. But there’s still a restless artist stirring around in there which is why he’ll always support even my most deluded dreams. Also, in the 80’s he owned fishnet muscle tanks in every color. So there’s that.
What do you do for fun? Find a hole-in-the-wall with cheap beer. Possibly a karaoke machine. But definitely cheap beer. I chill with a classy bunch that has been known to ride the Staten Island Ferry just for the $3 Coronas. None of us live in Staten Island.
Do you have a good luck charm? My grandmother gave me an antique cast iron elephant when I was a child. He’s too heavy to carry around so I guess he’s only a charm in theory.
Wackiest fan encounter: A drunk dude bought a book from me after a show…then stuck his tongue in my ear…then apologized the next day via Facebook.
Before I die, I want to: Be in a movie.
When I fly I have to have: Gossip magazines, 2 TylenolPM.
If I had to spend $10 at my favorite fast food joint, I’d order: $9 worth of fried cheese sticks from a Coney Island Restaurant in Detroit. And however much ranch dressing I can secure with the remaining dollar.
My coolest article of clothing: A high collared, black faux fur jacket. It’s my lil’ Eartha Kitt number.
My first financial splurge was: A pair of designer combat boots. Clearly my priorities are screwed.
When friends come over, we: All put in $5 for whiskey and cry about boys.
Do you like to cook? If so, what? Cooking requires way more multi-tasking than I can feasibly handle. I have a mild panic response just being near a stove.
TV show I never miss: When I had a TV… America’s Next Top Model.
If you could interview any celeb whom would it be and why? Nicki Minaj. You could write a dissertation on that woman. She’s a farce but the brilliant thing is she knows it. I also think she could be certifiably insane which could make for an interesting interview.
Anything about yourself you wish you could change? I’d be a lot less lazy. I probably just need to cancel my Netflix subscription.
I’ll eat sushi, but not: Liver. The texture alone…that’s a firm no.
What are your best and worst subjects in school? I was a whiz-kid with reading and writing and took all  honors English and Spanish classes. Never did learn how to multiply though…
If you could be granted 3 wishes, they’d be… Eternal youth, the ability to convince anyone of anything, and an entirely new wardrobe every week.
If I could gay-marry anyone in the world, she would be… Lisa Bonet
Where on earth are you most dying to go? The Seychelles, a chain of islands off the coast of Africa
What’s the last thing that made you cry? I’m pretty much ALWAYS crying. Ask anybody.
Do you ever wish you could just be a normal kid? So what you’re saying is I’m NOT a normal kid?…
What would people be surprised to know about you? I still get really terrible pre-show jitters but I’ll rarely admit it. It makes me more nervous when people know I’m nervous.
If you had to name one song as your theme song, what would it be?“Feelin’ Good” by Nina Simone.
Have you had a starstruck Hollywood experience? Who was it with? It’s kinda silly…Liya Kebede. She’s one of the top fashion models in the world and is an ungodly sort of gorgeous. We both trained at the Stella Adler Studio of Acting in NYC where I first met her in the bathroom. She pees very delicately. Like a sun shower.

FAVORITES
Favorite Actor/Actress: Meryl Streep.
Favorite Movie: “The Color Purple”— I will not date any man who has not seen it.
Favorite Body Part: My eyes.
Favorite Singer: Damian Marley.
Favorite Song: “Shoop” by Salt-n-Peppa.
Favorite Candy: Those sugary watermelon slice thingees.
Favorite Philospher: Kwame Nkrumah. I stay black.
Favorite Ice Cream Flavor: I’d suffer the wrath of my lactose intolerance for a bowl of cookie dough ice cream.
Favorite Sport: Not really into sports per say, but anything that involves nearly naked men with bad tattoos punching each other in the face can be fun.
Favorite Sports Team: The Skins.
Favorite Athlete: Okay, now. Really?
Favorite Book: 100 Years of Solitude. Really anything by Gabriel Garcia Marquez.
Cell Phone or iPod: Can’t make bootie calls on an iPod.
Summer or Winter: Summer. Hands down.
Ice Skating or Gymnastics: Uh…Ice skating?
LA or New York: Big ups to Brooklyn!
Skiing or Snowboarding: Never done either. Which one is least likely to result in my untimely death?
Chocolate or Flowers: White lilies but nothing with baby’s breath. I hate that shit.
Dogs or Cats: Miniature pig.

One Comment
  1. C V'Nay S permalink
    November 14, 2010 \pm\30 1:27 pm 1:27 pm

    Awesome answers!! I feel like I know u well enough to stick my tongue in your ear and not have to apologize next time. LOL…Just one more question I think the article left off: If you could be any body of water what would it be? and where can find out when she’s performing next?!

Comments are closed.

