Skip to content

I who am about to scream (but not with self-righteousness this time, promise).

November 16, 2010 \pm\30 8:38 pm


The above video was posted on the facebook by a smart, well-intentioned friendly-acquaintence (and fbook friend) to much ecstatic fanfare in the comments section. I reposted, adding:

“I got a feeling I’m gonna get some grief for this one. I dig my NPRs, I do. And I know public radio is under fire lately, and I know I could just not post this at all and stay outta trouble, but I really want to know if it’s just me or is this REALLY EFFING ANNOYING? And if so, why?”

Somehow I think I may meet with a more receptive audience to my p.o.v. here at wwatd. Am I right?

(hmmmmmmmmm. “preview” shows the video, but it’s not showing up when I update. So if you don’t mind kickin’ it old school and just clicking on the link . . . .)

6 Comments
  1. November 16, 2010 \pm\30 9:40 pm 9:40 pm

    FYI, it’s WWAATD.
    wwatd is the worldwide ancillary teardrop depository.

  2. November 16, 2010 \pm\30 9:44 pm 9:44 pm

    My bad, Melissa.

    Upon further reflection, after a drive home and a forced, re-viewing, I’m actually getting more seriously about my distaste:

    Here’s the thing:

    Aside from general annoyingness of the dude rhymin’, and with acknowldegement that okay, I’m sure the makers of the song and video didn’t intend this and I’m guessing they might even claim to be hip-hop fans, the end product comes across as patronizing and mocking of rap music and culture, not to mention aggrandizing the NPR white-as-snow and overeducated as, um, Ivy-with-a-capital-I, listener.

    • November 16, 2010 \pm\30 10:43 pm 10:43 pm

      If you needed any validation, I wrote my comment before yours was published. It definitely is exactly what you think it is.

  3. November 16, 2010 \pm\30 9:46 pm 9:46 pm

    HA HA HA IT IS FUNNY BECAUSE WHITE PEOPLE ARE RAPPING HA HA HA HA HA AREN’T WE FUCKING PRECIOUS AND AWESOME BECAUSE WE LISTEN TO NPR?!

    What annoying, pandering, self-congratulatory bullshit.

  4. November 16, 2010 \pm\30 11:44 pm 11:44 pm

    I luv u man.

  5. November 17, 2010 \am\30 10:29 am 10:29 am

    He said Mike Verbiglia (sp?) though which is impressive. I don’t think I heard Do-wa-he Cy-cow-tao (sp?) though.

Comments are closed.

