Skip to content

I like when friends post links to poems.

November 21, 2010 \am\30 12:12 am

Instant gratification and all. That FB place is good for that. Today alone (okay, now yesterday) brought these following poems plus a couple that were posted in their entirety, rather than links, so unfortunately I can’t link:

A Voice on an Answering Machine by Yusef Komunyakaa (thanks Claire & Leslie)

At Me Not With Me by D.W. Lichtenberg (thanks Daniel)

Lexington, Bull Run and Live on CNN by Christopher Fox Graham (thanks James)

I Erected a Castle Around the Girl I Loved by Timothy D. Robbins (thanks Tim)

 

6 Comments
  1. November 21, 2010 \am\30 2:17 am 2:17 am

    Thanks Robin!

    I love it too when writers I know tweet or post about poems in online journals. I sometimes come across writers with a deep suspicion about the legitimacy of publishing in an online journal. This is sort of old hat, I think, because I’d much rather be in an online mag I can share with as many people as I want than in a print journal with a circulation of 300-700 (normal for an esteemed journal).

    And ultimately, publishing in journals is sort of like getting your song played on the radio. It’s about exposure and promotion of the work. Why not have it accessible to everyone?

    • Robin Elizabeth Sampson permalink
      November 21, 2010 \am\30 8:01 am 8:01 am

      You’re welcome Dan. Even though there is something very special about seeing one’s work in print on a page made of paper, having it online makes it just more likely to be read by more than the folks sharing those pages plus a few more. If a friend gets a poem published in a journal that I don’t happen to get (which I only get borrowed ones these days, unfortunately), unless they show it to me, I’ll never see it. I liked seeing these poems yesterday, and I don’t think the way that I saw them is any less legitimate (in the long view of accessibility) than if I had of read them in one of the dusty books at the bottom of the pile of detritus I was cleaning. Attempting to clean that is.

    • November 22, 2010 \pm\30 2:35 pm 2:35 pm

      Here are my favorite parts of the Lichtenberg poem:

      Is it that somethingsomething— Is it is it—

      It’s a beautiful girl. It’s a beautiful girl?

      She is dressed like a river I once saw on a family vacation.

      And of course, the fatty last stanza.

  2. November 21, 2010 \am\30 3:15 am 3:15 am

    I know readers aren’t supposed to make gossipy connections like this, except when they’re writing a paper and can call it research and analysis, but when I read the (lovely) Komunyakaa, I could only think “oh – Reetika Vazirani”.

    Thank you for sharing these, Robin. And I agree with D.W. – I try as far as possible to publish my own work online. The Internet just opens up your potential readership in so many ways.

    • Robin Elizabeth Sampson permalink
      November 21, 2010 \am\30 8:03 am 8:03 am

      Sharanya, go ahead! Connect away! That’s how our minds work. I love when a poem reminds me of another, or another poet.

  3. November 21, 2010 \am\30 8:26 am 8:26 am

    Love!

Comments are closed.

