Skip to content

Machine knit.

November 23, 2010 \pm\30 8:20 pm

I love to knit because I am creating something useful, wearable, and fitting, as well as releasing the problematic knots in my mind through the repetition and pattern rhythms. But, as creative and industrious as this is, my knitting is lame. I recall reading a couple years ago about a young woman who knitted a pink cashmere prosthethic breast for her cancer-surviving grandmother, then started selling more on Etsy. And while I did two reports for The Huffington Post a few years ago on socially conscious knitting–not including garments–I missed Lauren Porter’s garter stitch Ferrari Testarossa in 2007, which was her final thesis project at Bath Spa University in England. For the 12-cylinder replica, Porter and her family knit 12 miles of yarn and dressed a steel frame that she welded herself.  She likes to bring people to craft who might not ever go to an art gallery, she says. Kind of makes me want to papier mache poems onto sports cars–wait–even that has been done better than I could do. Race car driver, Alex Grabau, got permission from Jim Daniels and the University of Wisconsin Press to apply Daniels’ intimate machine poem, “Factory Love”  to the roof of Grabau’s Mitsubishi Evolution II CE9A.  That’s got to be the best reprint request ever. It is great to know that poems can reach a new audience, although  at speeds of over 200 mph, the recognition is all too fleeting.

3 Comments
  1. Robin Elizabeth Sampson permalink
    November 23, 2010 \pm\30 10:06 pm 10:06 pm

    umm, I can knit scarves. Aspire to hats, sweaters, and socks. The car is scary.

    • Amy Holman permalink*
      November 24, 2010 \am\30 4:38 am 4:38 am

      Yes, she had a little too much time on her hands.

  2. November 24, 2010 \am\30 11:32 am 11:32 am

    That factory love thing is cool.

Comments are closed.

