Skip to content

Getting to Know: Teresa Farrell.

December 17, 2010 \pm\31 12:00 pm

*Note: Hi, guys, it’s Teresa, the Sarcastic Intern. Sadly, my semester at We Who Are About To Die is coming to a close. It’s been a wild ride and I’ve had a lot of fun. You may see me back here later, in a different, non-interning capacity. I was going to write a long post pontificating about Life After College, but I thought it might be more fun (and more fitting) if I just ended on this note. After editing so many of these interviews, I was just dying for a chance to mouth off on this questionairre myself. So, here it is. Enjoy, & take care.

Getting to Know: Teresa Farrell (aka The Sarcastic Intern).

[In which WWAATD asks vapid questions culled from various teen magazines to non-vapid, non-teenager types.]

Full Name: Teresa Maureen Cecilia (if you count my confirmation name) Farrell
Age: 21
Height: 5’7 and 3/4
Currently Live: in the Future.
Hometown: New York Mills, NY
Instruments: Sometimes, guitar. Formerly, clarinet. A touch of bass and saxophone.
Car: Subaru Forester (paint color Black Pearl; I am not kidding).
Secret Talent: I’m fluent in Bullshit.

What is the best thing about your job? Under the assumption that my job is “to be a student and get good grades,” the best part is that it’s almost over. As a writer? Doing whatever I want and getting paid for it. Trying new things and exploring. Currently I do that for Upstate Summer Fun.
What was your most embarrassing audition moment? When I was in 10th grade I had a stroke of insanity and thought I should be in the school play. It was Guys and Dolls. I made my best friend come with me, in her volleyball uniform, straight from practice. Together we gave the most horrifically off-key performance of “Luck Be A Lady” that New York Mills Drama Club had ever seen. We ended up being cast as “ensemble” performers, which is the polite way to say “dress to blend in, don’t open your mouth onstage, and try not to trip over anything” (incidentally, I tripped over a potted plant during the first performance).
If you could live in any past era which would it be and why? I always used to say I wish I could have been a teenager in the 70s because I wanted to be there when KISS recorded ALIVE! at Cobo Hall. But I also think I would have fit in well in the Wild West.
Who is your role model and why? I don’t really do role models. Is that a cliche thing to say? I admire ballsy, ambitious, independent people who do things that no one thinks they can do.
What do you do for fun? Go outside and play. Cook stuff. Travel, or just drive aimlessly with the music up. Burn candles and drink wine and listen to the Doors.
Do you have a good luck charm? I play little games with everyday events. Like, if that light turns green right now, I’ll win the lottery tomorrow! Sadly, it doesn’t work.
Wackiest fan encounter: I don’t have fans. Yet.
Before I die, I want to: Live.
When I fly I have to have: Candy. A destination that I’m looking forward to. And the window seat is preferred.
If I had to spend $10 at my favorite fast food joint, I’d order: Lots of coffee. Black. And some napkins.
My coolest article of clothing: I used to own a variety of “cool” articles of clothing, like zebra-striped Chuck Taylors and arm warmers with little skull and crossbones on them (pictured above). Now my favorite, if not my coolest, thing is the first t-shirt I got from a rep at my kayaking job. It has a sweet design on it and it makes me feel and look like I have some idea what I’m talking about at work.
My first financial splurge was: Are we talking big things? My first apartment. Followed closely by my first car.
When friends come over, we: Are drunk and trying to figure out who has enough money left to pay the cab driver.
Do you like to cook? If so, what? I love to cook, I’m terrible at baking. I make excellent pizza. I survived my freshman year of college by learning to cook pasta in a microwave.
TV show I never miss: The Office. Desperate Housewives, though I miss that sometimes.
If you could interview any celeb whom would it be and why? Keith Richards. Do you really need me to explain why?
Anything about yourself you wish you could change? I’m midway through a long personal reinvention and writing about it. So, those things will be up for discussion in a public forum later.
I’ll eat sushi, but not: Wasabi. I hate horseradish with a passion.
What are your best and worst subjects in school? Best was always English (surprise!). Worst was math. So bad that it could have caused me to flunk out of college, but it didn’t.
If you could be granted 3 wishes, they’d be… Loaded question. Next.
If I could gay-marry anyone in the world, he/she would be… Claire Robinson from the Food Network. She cooks good food designed to go in a picnic basket that you can take to a concert in the park. What more could you ask for?
Where on earth are you most dying to go? Back to Montana, or back to an Adirondack summer. To Europe for the first time. Texas. Virginia. Someplace I’ve never been.
What’s the last thing that made you cry? Hot wings.
Do you ever wish you could just be a normal kid? All the former “normal” kids are doing boring things now. I prefer this way.
What would people be surprised to know about you? I don’t know. Everything. I hate scary movies. I’m a paradox.
If you had to name one song as your theme song, what would it be? Soul Kitchen by the Doors.
Have you had a starstruck Hollywood experience? Who was it with? I met Joe Bonamassa when I was 15 and an aspiring rock and roll guitarist. But I didn’t meet him in Hollywood. More like at an assembly in my high school auditorium.

FAVORITES
Favorite Actor/Actress: Kate Hudson and John Krasinski.
Favorite Movie: Pirates of the Caribbean still holds the number one spot.
Favorite Body Part: Backbone.
Favorite Singer: Anyone with soul and something to say.
Favorite Song: Today it’s “Gimme Shelter” by the Stones.
Favorite Candy: CHOCOLATE. Snickers and Symphony bars.
Favorite Philosopher: Jim Morrison. There’s no life event that the Doors can’t help you navigate.
Favorite Ice Cream Flavor: Raspberry anything. Especially Perry’s Rocky Mountain Raspberry. It was a staple at all my birthday parties growing up.
Favorite Sport: Kayaking.
Favorite Sports Team: Whoever the people I’m watching the game with are rooting for.
Favorite Athlete: Freya Hoffmeister.
Favorite Book: Amongst others… On the Road. What a cliché, I know.
Cell Phone or iPod: The iPod doesn’t call to deliver bad news, sooo…
Summer or Winter: SUMMER. Without fail.
Ice Skating or Gymnastics: Yoga?
LA or New York: Austin.
Skiing or Snowboarding: Snowshoeing; all the rest have bad histories with me.
Chocolate or Flowers: Flowers if I had to pick. But wine & stargazing is better.
Dogs or Cats: A chocolate lab and a golden retriever. I have their names picked out already in my head.

Comments are closed.

