Skip to content

Roxane Gay on the language of rape.

March 10, 2011 \pm\31 10:31 pm

Her piece at The Rumpus blew me away.  “The Careless Language of Sexual Violence”

A must read.

At times, I have made myself nauseous with what I’m writing and what I am capable of writing and imagining, my ability to go there.

As I write any of these stories, I wonder if I am being gratuitous. I want to get it right. How do you get this sort of thing right? How do you write violence authentically without making it exploitative? There are times when I worry I am contributing to the kind of cultural numbness that would allow an article like the one in the Times to be written and published, that allows rape to be such rich fodder for popular culture and entertainment. We cannot separate violence in fiction from violence in the world no matter how hard we try.

 

Comments are closed.

