Skip to content

We who want Beowulf socks.

March 23, 2011 \pm\31 2:42 pm

Hwaet! I am seriously lusting after a pair of these socks! I may need to take up my knitting needles again.

The other week I was in Philadelphia at a Pi Pie party, talking knitting, when someone told me about them. Then a laptop was produced and I got a gander at this site. Thanks Stephanie! (she’s making a pair.)

The pattern can be bought from The Sanguine Gryphon, a yarn geek’s delight.

*Between now and April 15, 50% of all pattern sales will be donated to the Red Cross of Japan for disaster relief efforts.

Hwaet! Listen! Thus begins the immortal tale of the hero Beowulf, the bard summoning the attention of his audience. And so begin these socks, which give the text of the first page of the surviving manuscript, a copy dating to around 1000 CE. The writing flows from one sock to the other, so that you may read it uninterrupted.

2 Comments
  1. Robin Elizabeth Sampson permalink
    March 25, 2011 \pm\31 11:25 pm 11:25 pm

    though it might be years before I get around to knitting them, I may order a pattern. Just because.

  2. March 28, 2011 \am\31 7:37 am 7:37 am

    Just my little effort to reintroduce the word hwaet into the English vocabulary :-) Spoken sharply, it does wonders for getting the attention of a room!

Comments are closed.

