Skip to content

Getting to know: Jeanann Verlee.

March 25, 2011 \am\31 10:00 am

[In which WWAATD asks vapid questions culled from various teen magazines to non-vapid, non-teenager types.]

Full Name: Jeanann Verlee Harris
Age: 36
Height: 5’ 2”
Currently Live: New York City
Hometown: Denver, CO
Instruments: Piano until I was about 12 years old. (All I ever really learned were the first few bars to the “Hill Street Blues” theme song, and the single repeated note in the opening to “Chariots of Fire.”)
Car: Subway.
Secret Talent: Dog whispering. Indoor plant growing. The crazymaking of men.
What is the best thing about your job? The paying job? It pays. The non-paying job? Poemspoemspoems.
What was your most embarrassing audition moment?
If you could live in any past era which would it be and why? 1940s. Frank Sinatra. ‘nough said.
Who is your role model and why?
What do you do for fun? Poems. Food. Red wine. Foosball.
Do you have a good luck charm? Not per se. Though if I go outside my apartment without all my rings, my hair catches fire.
Wackiest fan encounter: Fans?
Before I die, I want to: Make babies.
When I fly I have to have: Aisle seat. Pillow. Blanket.
If I had to spend $10 at my favorite fast food joint, I’d order: Taco Bell Chalupa Supreme. No meat, add beans. Extra hot sauce. (Pocket the remaining cash for beer.)
My coolest article of clothing: Pink & white striped thigh highs.
My first financial splurge was: $80 pair of blue combat boots, on layaway. Circa 1987.
When friends come over, we: Drink Chianti.
Do you like to cook? If so, what? Love to cook. Name it. If it calls for meat, I replace it with a veg substitute. I make a mean non-chicken-parmesan. A meaner non-beef-stroganoff.
TV show I never miss: Haven’t turned my TV on in at least six months.
If you could interview any celeb whom would it be and why? I don’t like interviewing, but I’d love to get drunk with Johnette Napolitano. Or, just get Denzel Washington drunk.
Anything about yourself you wish you could change? A tragically long list. Start with mood swings. Finish with smile.
I’ll eat sushi, but not: For dinner, it’s an appetizer at best.
What are your best and worst subjects in school? Best: English. Worst: Chemistry.
If you could be granted 3 wishes, they’d be… Love. Babies. Good health insurance.
If I could gay-marry anyone in the world, he/she would be… Any of the remarkable women I’m lucky enough to call close friend: EH, JH, MG, JWS, MO, CH, AN, MLB. Or, all of the above. Houseful of sass.
Where on earth are you most dying to go? St. Thomas. Only because I’m an easily-swayed consumer of the gorgeous photos in subway ads.
What’s the last thing that made you cry? My friend Adam told me he taught my poems in class and the students cried – then started writing.
Do you ever wish you could just be a normal kid? Every day, ma, every day.
What would people be surprised to know about you? I was raised by an ardent hunter, marksman, and republican. (And he’s still my favorite thing on Earth.)
If you had to name one song as your theme song, what would it be? “When I was a Fool,” Concrete Blonde/written by Johnette Napolitano.
Have you had a starstruck Hollywood experience? Who was it with? I saw Michael Symon (Iron Chef America/James Beard Foundation Award-winning chef) on 53rd Street in New York and my chest started drumming so hard, I thought I was going to pass out. Mmm, dreamy.

FAVORITES
Favorite Actor/Actress: This changes. I find these folks consistently remarkable: Forest Whitaker, Bill Murray, John Malkovich, Meryl Streep, Denzel Washington, Matt Damon…
Favorite Movie: SLC Punk!
Favorite Body Part: Men: shoulders. Women: collarbone.
Favorite Singer: Johnette Napolitano.
Favorite Song: This changes, too. “When I was a Fool,” by Concrete Blonde/written by Johnette Napolitano. “The Answer,” by Bad Religion/written by Greg Graffin. “Hurt,” as covered by Johnny Cash/written by Trent Reznor.
Favorite Candy: Doritos.
Favorite Philosopher: Darwin.
Favorite Ice Cream Flavor: Mocha Almond Fudge.
Favorite Sport: Basketball.
Favorite Sports Team: Wherever Nate Robinson gets traded.
Favorite Athlete: See above.
Favorite Book: [currently] Up Jump the Boogie, by John Murillo. Pink Elephant, by Rachel McKibbens. Blood Dazzler, by Patricia Smith.
Cell Phone or iPod: Cell phone.
Summer or Winter: Summer. Four seasons in a row.
Ice Skating or Gymnastics: Roller Skating.
LA or New York: Pfft. New Fucking York.
Skiing or Snowboarding: Snow is cold.
Chocolate or Flowers: Flowers.
Dogs or Cats: The whole Ark.

One Comment
  1. Seth Brown permalink
    March 25, 2011 \pm\31 4:13 pm 4:13 pm

    That woman is all beauty pieces, heart punches and magic stuff

Comments are closed.

