Skip to content

We Who Are About To Write A Poem Every Day For A Month.

March 31, 2011 \pm\31 12:51 pm

Yup. Tomorrow is not only April Fool’s Day, but it’s the first day of National Poetry Month, and some of us are crazy inspired enough to attempt this feat of writing a poem every day for 30 days. I did it last year.

And how will some of us be poemizing this month? We’ll be getting cozy with this site:

Not Without Poetry

The title of “Not Without Poetry” comes from a quote by Charles Baudelaire, in which he says, “Any healthy man can go without food for two days — but not without poetry.” And that is the goal of this site. For the entire month of April (national poetry month), we’re encouraging everyone to try writing a poem every day. There is no pressure, there is no way to “lose” at this event, there are no trophies. There is only the joy of creating poetry, thinking about poetry, reading poems and sharing your love of poetry with others.

I like that NWP doesn’t have a lot of rules. Last year I started out with ReadWritePoem (defunct this year which is why Not Without Poetry was started), but on the very first day I inadvertently broke the rules. So, for the rest of the month, I was on my own. But it was fun. And I got 30 new poems.

So, commit yourself to writing a poem a day. Go ahead, you know you want to!

Oh, and the prompt on Monday, April 4 will be one I came up with!

4 Comments
  1. April 1, 2011 \am\30 11:46 am 11:46 am

    I’m in. I will also encourage my students to do this. I plan to post a new prompt every day on my blog this month.

  2. Stephanie K. Merrill permalink
    April 1, 2011 \am\30 11:59 am 11:59 am

    I’m in as well–and I will use them in the classroom, too. Great idea.

Trackbacks

  1. New Poetry Project: No New Yorker and Smart Phone Poetics | So Fake It's Real
  2. April is National Poetry Month & I’m 25% thru the Wordpress pledge. Time for a rhyme! | nobluehair

Comments are closed.

