Skip to content

Sad news of Southern Review’s Jeanne Leiby’s death.

April 20, 2011 \pm\30 12:43 pm

Jeanne Leiby, Editor of The Southern Review, has died in a car accident. A couple of months ago, I’d linked to her Lagniappe column about how, in the wake of the whole VIDA thing, The Southern Review had run their numbers to see how they came up on the men vs. women “battle” for publication. Just the other week I had been explaining what this (VIDA) was to someone.

Then this morning, on Facebook of course, I saw a post from Rumpus Poetry linking to HTML Giant’s post. This seems to be how I hear about news these days.

I had been impressed with Leiby’s  Why I Call, a piece about the reasons she would pick up a phone and call people when their work was accepted. This is how that piece ended:

The world of writing and editing is solitary enough. I want to know the writer behind the work. And I want writers to know the people behind The Southern Review. Maybe we can all do just a little bit more to build the human connections within our community. If you have any questions, give me a call…               ~ Jeanne Leiby

I remember reading that and thinking maybe I should send something sometime, but I never did.

Please folks, when you get in your car, buckle your damn seat belt!

2 Comments
  1. April 20, 2011 \pm\30 2:07 pm 2:07 pm

    she was a tireless advocate for writers of all stripes. a bad day for all of us.

  2. April 20, 2011 \pm\30 2:22 pm 2:22 pm

    I’m sorry to learn of this, and yes, of someone as caring and interested in her job as Jeanne was. I’m sorry that she had to die in a crash. Her family and friends must be inconsolable.

Comments are closed.

