Skip to content

Getting to know: Larry Sawyer.

April 29, 2011 \am\30 10:12 am

[In which WWAATD asks vapid questions culled from various teen magazines to non-vapid, non-teenager types.]

Full Name: Lawrence A. Sawyer

Age: 40

Height: 6’ 1”

Currently Live: Chicago, Illinois

Hometown: A galaxy, far, far away

Instruments: Guitar, theremin.

Car: 2005 Ford Mustang, mineral gray clearcoat metallic.

Secret Talent: Acting.

 What is the best thing about your job? I love working in the Loop.

 What was your most embarrassing audition moment? I killed as Chief Powhatan in our fifth grade production of Pocahontas, but during the audition I froze completely. Luckily, I got the part.

 If you could live in any past era which would it be and why? 1920’s Paris.

Who is your role model and why? Wallace Stevens or André Breton for their expansive imaginations, perhaps.

What do you do for fun? I recently performed in a scripted reading of The Dust of Suns by Raymond Roussel that was directed by John Beer and I’m still smiling about it.

Do you have a good luck charm? I take my new book Unable to Fully California with me everywhere now. Krista Franklin’s amazing collage is on the cover. She’s recently designed covers for poets John Murillo and Tyehimba Jess, too.  

Wackiest fan encounter: I once met Martin Sheen in Dayton, Ohio where I grew up, but it turned out he’d been standing next to me for about five minutes before I said anything—other Daytonians, Rob and Chad Lowe once dined at a nearby table at a restaurant, also I remember once playing pool with Kim Deal of The Breeders at a local Dayton bar.  I was once too starstruck to walk up and talk to Patti Smith, although I’d published some of her work in milk magazine.

Before I die, I want to: return to Santorini, Greece—it’s magical there.

When I fly I have to have: Johnny Walker Black.

My coolest article of clothing: I have a brown leather 1970s vintage jacket that’s been lost and has reappeared several times.

My first financial splurge was: Probably a record or two. I think my first music purchases were Billy Joel’s Glass Houses, Queen’s The Game, and Blondie’s Autoamerican.

When friends come over, we: Do dinner and a movie.

Do you like to cook? If so, what? I love making breakfast.

TV show I never miss: I wouldn’t say I never miss it, but Louie with Louis C.K. is pretty funny. I’m still watching Anthony Bourdain’s No Reservations, too.

If you could interview any celeb whom would it be and why? Jodorowsky, Guy Maddin, their brilliant minds…

I’ll eat sushi, but not: Brussels sprouts

What are your best and worst subjects in school? English and math.

If you could be granted 3 wishes, they’d be… More wishes!

Where on earth are you most dying to go? I’d love to visit the Serengeti and Kilimanjaro in Tanzania.

What’s the last thing that made you cry? The recent Chicago blizzard!

Do you ever wish you could just be a normal kid? Yes.

What would people be surprised to know about you? I was incredibly shy as a child.

 Favorite Actor/Actress: Possibly Johnny Depp or Cate Blanchett, Colin Firth, Dustin Hoffman.

Favorite Movie: any Stanley Kubrick, Godard, specific films? Midnight Cowboy, 2001: A Space Odyssey, Manhattan, The 400 Blows, Untitled, Vertigo, The Gold Rush, Metropolis…

Favorite Body Part: Eyes.

Favorite Singer: Leonard Cohen, Johnny Cash, Billie Holiday.

Favorite Ice Cream Flavor: Chocolate.

Favorite Sport: Basketball.

Favorite Sports Team: Bulls.

Favorite Book: Harmonium, Wallace Stevens.

Cell Phone or iPod: BlackBerry

Summer or Winter: Summer.

LA or New York: Chicago.

Chocolate or Flowers: Flowers.

Dogs or Cats: This question always makes me think of that horrible movie Cat People. Even so, cats.

Comments are closed.

