Skip to content

Getting to know: Deborah Ager.

May 20, 2011 \pm\31 3:10 pm

 [In which WWAATD asks vapid questions culled from various teen magazines to non-vapid, non-teenager types.]
 
 
Full Name: Deborah Ager

Age: 497.25 (but don’t tell anyone)

 Height: Somewhere between 5 and 6 feet.

 Currently Live: Near Washington, DC

Instruments: Although I play none of them well, I tinker with the harmonica and guitar and, sometimes, plastic milk jugs.

Car: Toyota until the day I die.

Secret Talent: I can predict the fall of oppressive regimes and make darned good chocolate brownies.
 
What is the best thing about your job? Don’t people always say “the people”? The people.

What was your most embarrassing audition moment? I had to rollerblade while singing.

If you could live in any past era which would it be and why? I’d live during the 1940s even though the world was a mess.

Who is your role model and why? My grandmother was my role model. She handled a lot of strife with grace and made difficult things—like The Depression–look easy.

What do you do for fun? I read real estate listings. I kid you not. Real estate listings are my “People Magazine” aka my guilty pleasure. Right now, I am swooning over a blue Victorian.

Do you have a good luck charm? I do not have a good luck charm, yet I am very fond of my Mac.

Wackiest fan encounter: I stuck my finger through the wide-spaced metal screen. This was an old fan that did not take into account the safety of fingers. You’d never find a fan like that now. I still have the finger.

Before I die, I want to: Sit in Miami in the sun.

When I fly I have to have: My own personal L3 Communications body scanner to take xrays of fellow passengers. Although it weights several hundred pounds, it’s completely worth it.

If I had to spend $10 at my favorite fast food joint, I’d order: A lot of water.

My coolest article of clothing: My black boots with the double buckle and an antique blue coat with a silk label on the inside.

My first financial splurge was: An Ibanez electric guitar and amplifier.

When friends come over, we: usually eat food I’ve made. I cook a mean ginger sweet potato soup.

Do you like to cook? If so, what? I think all poets should perfect the 20-minute meal so they can spend time writing. I like to make tacos, corn chowder, Vietnamese summer eggrolls, fried sweet potato balls, and parmesan green beans.

TV show I never miss: I tend to miss most. However, I’ve been known to watch House on TV and DVD. I’m a Burn Notice fan, and I love the Miami setting.

If you could interview any celeb whom would it be and why? I would interview Kevin Spacey.  He has the right blend of talent and intelligence to create an interesting interview. My husband’s friend got to interview him for a magazine, and I am still envious.

Anything about yourself you wish you could change? Sure. I inherited a lot of items from my grandmother and that led to some disorganization. I spent an entire day purging 25 boxes of her items and yet I still have a lot left to copy, file, etc.

I’ll eat sushi, but not: Intestines.

What are your best and worst subjects in school? My worst subject used to be math, but I became good at math when left to my own devices. I enjoyed history and English. Does anyone claim to be good at Home Economics?
If you could be granted 3 wishes, they’d be…1) To get more writers involved in the political situation in this country. 2) To buy a blue Victorian. 3) To play more.

If I could gay-marry anyone in the world, he/she would be…Someone calm and centered. I’m trying to think of someone famous to list and can’t think of anyone. Reese Witherspoon might come close since she raises animals and lives in Ojai.

Where on earth are you most dying to go? I want to visit Costa Rica and Italy again. Italy had some of the freshest food I’ve ever tasted. One day, I will visit Puerto Rico, Nicaragua, Jamaica, Morocco, Spain, and France.

What’s the last thing that made you cry? Someone dying.

Do you ever wish you could just be a normal kid? Sure.

What would people be surprised to know about you? I once had a radio show called “Eight Pairs of Don Alphonso’s Tweezers” with a dear college friend.

If you had to name one song as your theme song, what would it be? I can’t think of something appropriate, but it would have the right blend of funk and hopefulness.

Have you had a starstruck Hollywood experience? Who was it with? I saw Kal Penn on the metro in Washington, DC.  He stuck out because he wore enormous sunglasses, and a man in DC would never wear sunglass that large. I was more confused than starstruck and had many questions. Mostly, I wondered 1) why he was taking the metro and 2) how he ever thought he’d blend into DC with those enormous LA-inspired glasses.

Favorite Actor/Actress: Kevin Spacey.

Favorite Movie: The Usual Suspects.

Favorite Body Part: Brain.

Favorite Singer: Dame Shirley Bassey, Kate Nash.

Favorite Song: I Who Have Nothing.

Favorite Candy: I’m not a candy person, but I like to dance.

Favorite Philosopher: Kant.

Favorite Ice Cream Flavor: Mint chocolate chip.

Favorite Sport: Soccer.

Favorite Sports Team: US Women’s Soccer Team.

Favorite Athlete: This is my weak point. I don’t watch sports.

Favorite Book: Something by Jane Austen, but it could change tomorrow. I love the restraint layered over near panic.

Cell Phone or iPod: Android.

Summer or Winter:  Summer in Florida when it’s 103 degrees, please.

Ice Skating or Gymnastics: Ice Skating to watch and gymnastics for myself.

LA or New York: I would definitely prefer New York. One can get lost there and it’s not necessary to have perfect hair or to drink as much water.

Skiing or Snowboarding: I’ve never been snowboarding, so I will choose that.

Chocolate or Flowers: Why choose? I’ll take both!

Dogs or Cats: This is the five-year anniversary of my cat’s death. I found her dead on the kitchen floor one morning. I bought lime and buried her that same day. She was a cat who acted like a dog, so I’ll say that I am both a cat and a dog person.

Comments are closed.

