Skip to content

There is a light that never goes out.

May 22, 2011 \am\31 9:30 am

As a kid growing up all disaffected and weird as kids do, not reading a lot of books (that just wasn’t what we did), rockstars were my philosophers. Behold, the hallowed teachings of The Smiths:

  • Everybody’s got to live their life, and God knows I’ve got to live mine.
  • It’s so easy to laugh, it’s so easy to hate, it takes strength to be gentle and kind.
  • If you’re so very good looking, why are you on your own tonight?
  • And the church all they want is your money.
  • The vicar in a tutu, he’s not strange, he just wants to live his life this way.
  • I am human and I need to be loved, just like everybody else does.
  • And if the people stare, then the people stare.
  • If there’s something you’d like to try, ask me; I won’t say no, how could I?
  • I want to live and I want to love, I want to catch something that I might be ashamed of.
  • The music that they constantly play, it says nothing to me about my life.
  • Boot the grime of this world in the crotch, dear.
  • I just might die with a smile on my face after all.

Happy Birthday, Morrissey. ♥

Comments are closed.

