Skip to content

Getting to know: Jennifer C. Wolfe.

June 3, 2011 \am\30 10:31 am

[In which WWAATD asks vapid questions culled from various teen magazines to non-vapid, non-teenager types.]

Full Name: Jennifer Caroline Wolfe

Age: 43

Height: 5 feet, 6 inches

Currently Live: Maplewood, MN

Hometown: Maplewood, MN

Instruments: I played a flute in the high school band, but most recently, I have fallen in love with banging on the drums.  I have pretty good “drum rhythm” for not having had any kind of formal training, or so I have had local rock and blues band members tell me.  I would also like to learn to play acoustic guitar.

Car: My all-time favorite car is a jet black 1970 (and its current 2011 reincarnation) Dodge Challenger.  Unfortunately, I drive a smoke gray 2005 Dodge Neon, which I am happy with.

Secret Talent: A secret talent I have is my extensive music and movie trivia knowledge.  Of course, working for ten years in music/movie retail will do that for you.

What was your most embarrassing audition moment? I have not had a formal “audition,’ per se, but I did have to audition for a position in a junior high choir.  I had to vocalize the notes played by the director seated at the piano and to my astonishment, discovered I had a multi-octave voice range, resulting in my being “cast” as a soprano VS an alto.

If you could live in any past era which would it be and why? If I could live and come-of-age in a past era, I would choose the counter-culture 1960’s.  Being born in 1967 did not leave me privy to any of the hippie, anti-war protest scene.  I like this era, because I find it to be a fascinating insight into the national psyche, were people actually believed that they could change the world, while others were terrified of what that change might represent.

Who is your role model and why? My role model has always been my mom.  She does not take any guff from anyone and she is never at a loss for words or for a well-spoken retort to any sarcastic question or comment.

What do you do for fun? I read or I watch movies.  I also explore both new and old restaurants where I can chat and laugh with good friends.  I do not have a lot of free time, so it makes getting together with my friends a special, fun occasion.  The Minnesota State Fair is an annual best friend and family outing.

Do you have a good luck charm? I had a rabbit’s foot as a child, but at present, I do not have one.  I do have a nice Harley-Davidson necklace that whenever I am wearing it, good things seem to happen.

Wackiest fan encounter: I do not have “fans,” per se, but at one of my music retail stores, I was known as “Super Jen.”

Before I die, I want to: I would love to visit Scotland, where my mother’s family came from and Denmark, where my father’s family came from.

When I fly I have to have: I have to have my mp3 player—definitely!  That way, people sitting next to me do not bother me with trite conversation and I can ignore the mostly dreadful in-flight broadcast movie(s).

If I had to spend $10 at my favorite fast food joint, I’d order: I would buy a bucket of legs/thighs from KFC.

My coolest article of clothing: One of the coolest articles of clothing I own is a ZZ Top concert t-shirt I purchased at the MN State Fair, when they appeared there one summer.

My first financial splurge was: A genuine St. Paul Harley-Davidson leather jacket that hangs on its own HD plastic hanger.

When friends come over, we: When I entertain friends, we drink coffee, watch movies, relax and talk, or eat snack foods.  Often, a combination of all of the above.

Do you like to cook? If so, what? I do like to cook and two of my culinary specialties are homemade spaghetti and sesame seed chicken.  (Picture southern fried chicken nuggets covered with sesame seeds.  Delectable!)

TV show I never miss: Sons of Anarchy on FX.

If you could interview any celeb whom would it be and why? I would interview Kurtwood Smith, who played “Red Forman” on That 70’s Show, because I think he is absolutely the coolest!  He reminds me of all of the strict, iron handed high school teachers I hated in my youth, yet when I grew older, I discovered they were so strict, because they actually (gasp!) cared about me and my success in the world.

Anything about yourself you wish you could change? I guess I wish I was not quite so outspoken.  I sometimes have a tendency to blurt out whatever I happen to think or feel, which landed me in hot water with my high school principal on more than one occasion.  Sometimes, it is really better to “think before you speak.”  Just ask Sarah Palin.  Even better, MN Senator, Michele Bachmann.  Sigh…Is that an example of what I just stated I wished I could change?

I’ll eat sushi, but not: I do not eat sushi at all.  (And yes, I have tasted it).

What are your best and worst subjects in school? My best subject in school was always English (especially anything having to do with writing), while my worst school subject has always been math.  Anything much higher than entry-level college Algebra and it all fades over my head.  Story problems always vexed me.  Train A is travelling from such and such distance at one speed, while train B is travelling to the same destination at another speed.  Which one will get there first?  “Who really cares?” I once wrote on a high school math exam, prompting a visit with my guidance counselor.

If you could be granted 3 wishes, they’d be… (1) For a non-surgically corrected spine and right knee; (2) To have enough money to be able to live comfortably—and by comfortably, I mean being able to pay all of my bills and enjoying a few simple treats (i.e. Dodge Challenger), not by being Donald Trump; and (3) To find lasting true love.

Where on earth are you most dying to go? I would love to be able to visit Walt Disney World in Orlando, FL.  The one time my family and I visited in the withering heat wave of 1980 does not count.  Epcot Center had not even been finished, appearing like a half-constructed exoskeleton of the Death Star in Star Wars.

What’s the last thing that made you cry? I cry at the drop of a hat—or so my friends and family tease.  I can become very emotional very quickly.  The last thing that made me cry was watching a televised re-run of The Shawshank Redemption.  I cry at the ending, every single time.

Do you ever wish you could just be a normal kid? Define “normal.”  I believe I am as normal as the next person.  And I haven’t been called a “kid” since primary school, although I would not mind it in a “Here’s looking at you, kidHumphrey Bogart fashion.

What would people be surprised to know about you? People would probably be surprised to know how strongly my feelings run within the realm of politics.  Living and having been raised in a landscape of stalwart conservatism, my die-hard “Independent” voter status raises more than a few eyebrows.  So does the fact that I do not agree, at all, with many attitudes of the GOP, which automatically renders and labels me as a “liberal” in many individual’s eyes.

If you had to name one song as your theme song, what would it be? It would definitely be “Don’t Stop Believin’” by Journey.  That’s the key to life.  Don’t stop believing in yourself or where you want to go in life and savor those “good feelings” the song implores the listener to hold onto.

Have you had a starstruck Hollywood experience? Who was it with? I experienced a starstruck moment, when I got to meet Arnold Schwarzenegger, while he was filming Jingle All the Way at the Mall of America.  The music store I worked retail in was directly across the aisle from the toy store his movie crew was filming at.  Mr. Schwarzenegger came over to meet us and sign autographs.  He was very gracious and my hand was shaking so badly, as I held out a VHS copy of True Lies for him to sign, that he had to take it from me, to do so.  He was very sweet and did not mind my being completely awestruck in his presence.

Favorite Actor/Actress: My favorite actor is Mitch Pileggi, best known as “Director Skinner” on TV’s The X-Files, while my favorite actress is Drew Barrymore.  I have had a secret crush on Mitch Pileggi since before X-Files (picture the Wes Craven horror flick, Shocker).  I think some of the best actors are character actors and not necessarily those guys singled out as “Hollywood’s” estimate of the handsome leading man.  And Drew Barrymore is simply the coolest!  I like her in most everything she has done, from ET to the present, although I like her best opposite Adam Sandler in The Wedding Singer.

Favorite Movie: My all-time favorite movie is Cool Hand Luke, starring Paul Newman.

Favorite Body Part: My hands and fingers, due to the fact that without them I could not “write” (i.e. type) anything.

Favorite Singer: My favorite singer is Jon Bon Jovi.  Still gorgeous and rocking as good as ever, after all these years.  (I purchased a copy of the “Slippery When Wet” album on cassette tape, back in the day).

Favorite Song: My all-time favorite song is “Don’t Stop Believin’” by Journey.  I loved that song from the first time I heard it played on the FM airwaves—long before it became popularized to a new generation on television’s Glee.

Favorite Candy: Reese’s Peanut Butter Cups.  Milk chocolate Lindor truffles are quickly crowding in on them, however.

Favorite Philosopher: My favorite philosopher would probably be a mixture between Socrates and Bob Dylan.

Favorite Ice Cream Flavor: Chocolate chip.

Favorite Sport: OK, I will admit a guilty pleasure here—my favorite sport is professional wrestling, specifically WWE’s Monday Night Raw.  In what my father terms as “real” sports, I like football.

Favorite Sports Team: I do not really have one, although I do cheer on the MN Twins, Vikings, Wild, and Timberwolves.

Favorite Athlete: My favorite athlete is Triple H of WWE fame.

Favorite Book: I have three favorite books, which all vie for first place:  I am Rosemarie by Marietta D. Moskin; Roll of Thunder, Hear my Cry by Mildred D. Taylor; and Beezus and Ramona by Beverly Cleary.

Cell Phone or iPod: iPod—although with the iPhone, I can now have both.

Summer or Winter: Summer—ask any winter-weary Minnesotan, after they have struggled to scrape a hard frost off of their car windshield or slid across icy roads, and you will not need to wonder why.

Ice Skating or Gymnastics: I have always loved gymnastics and my early childhood ambition was to one-day try out for the US Gymnastics team, before a corrective spinal surgery for Scoliosis ended that dream.  I love to watch it; however, and am fairly good at guessing what marks the judges will award.

LA or New York: New York.

Skiing or Snowboarding: Snowboarding.  It looks so much more fun than skiing!  (Of course, this viewpoint might be emanating from the fact that my one experience with skiing culminated in my spending the evening in the clubhouse with my leg propped up, after falling and hurting myself just off of the ski lift to the bunny slope).

Chocolate or Flowers: Chocolate.  Flowers are pretty and they smell nice for a few days, but the effects of ingesting chocolate are far more powerful—at least, to me.

Dogs or Cats: I love both, but must admit I give dogs the edge.  Dogs love you, no matter what.  Cats give you their love, too, but only on their own terms and timetable.

Comments are closed.

