Skip to content

We who are about to tweet: @kristenisk.

June 26, 2011 \am\30 9:00 am

[In which we find out the Twitter philosophies of my most beloved follows.]

Twitter username: @kristenisk
Real name
: Kristen Iskandrian
Recent memorable tweet: “do they make a bra that accentuates your spleen”

How often do you tweet? Do you limit yourself to a number of tweets per day, or to a certain time of day? Any other OCD-like tweeting tendencies?

I generally tweet every day, sometimes frequently during the day, sometimes not. I don’t have any numbers or times in mind or anything like that. Tweeting feels like a very natural by-product of sitting at a computer. Or sitting in a field for that matter.

What is your ‘follow’ philosophy? Do you follow everyone who follows you? Do you follow celebrities, lit mags, ex-boyfriends?

At this point, I like keeping things tight. The people I follow are people I know and like in real life, or people whose work I know and like, or both. Maybe I’ll get a message that someone is following me, someone I know very little about, so I might go to their profile and read some of their feed and if I have a good time over there, I’ll follow them.

What is your @ philosophy? Do you tweet people back, engage in ‘chit chat,’ become annoyed when others do?

I don’t @ very often. Once in a while I will. The reason I like following a limited number of people is because I’m usually guaranteed to like most of what shows up on my screen. Twitter to me is the perfect solipsism, so I’m not too interested in using it to ‘converse.’

What is your #hashtag philosophy?

I think hashtags can enhance tweets, sometimes. I have an indexical mind and they appeal to that.

Do you obsess about number of: followers / retweets / favorites / unfollows / other?

No, I don’t think so. I like to look at what other people retweet and mark as favorite; once or twice I’ve started following someone that way.

How do you think you come across to your followers? How would you like to come across?

Oh no. I don’t know. These kinds of questions ruin Twitter somewhat, for me? Blogging occasionally becomes a self-conscious space, which is why I dip in and out of it. With Twitter, I get to just echo against my own little cave.

What do you want people to remember about your Twitter account?

Nothing. Twitter is the anti-memory.

One Comment

Trackbacks

  1. We who are about to tweet: curtain call. « We Who Are About To Die

Comments are closed.

