Skip to content

We who are about to tweet: @hiShaneJones.

June 28, 2011 \am\30 11:00 am

[In which we find out the Twitter philosophies of my most beloved follows.]

Twitter username: @hiShaneJones
Real name: Shane Jones
Recent memorable tweet: “Monday moring & you get up from bed and you go ROOOOOOAAARRRRRRR and then put that ROAR deep inside and hold that ROAR all day baby cakes”

How often do you tweet? Do you limit yourself to a number of tweets per day, or to a certain time of day? Any other OCD-like tweeting tendencies?

I’m random. I’ll have a day where I tweet several things right in a row and then have three or four days where I’m quiet. The only time I limit myself is if I put up four or five things in an hour and I know it’s just too much and I’m running the possibility of annoying people. If I don’t tweet for a week I feel like I’m going to disappear.

What is your ‘follow’ philosophy? Do you follow everyone who follows you? Do you follow celebrities, lit mags, ex-boyfriends?

I tend to follow only people I’ve met or have communicated with outside of twitter. Maybe that’s not true completely, but I try to keep my list to people I know, people I’ve maybe eaten a hamburger with or drank a beer with. I follow a few lit mags I think, no celebrities, no ex’s.

What is your @ philosophy? Do you tweet people back, engage in ‘chit chat,’ become annoyed when others do?

When I first started I did a lot of @. Now it’s pretty rare because I want my tweets to just be a list of nonsense that isn’t interrupted with conversations.

What is your #hashtag philosophy?

Sometimes I do it as a joke.

Do you obsess about number of: followers / retweets / favorites / unfollows / other?

Not really. I did at first. My view on twitter is just this space, this box, where I can type whatever creative bullshit I want and not care what the response is. I worry too much about what people and reviewers are saying about my books. Twitter is me being fun and kind of unhinged and stupid and silly.

How do you think you come across to your followers? How would you like to come across?

That’s a good question. I don’t know. My hope is that some of these freaks get a laugh or smile or maybe it hits them somewhere deep, and for those few seconds there’s a weird connection in the box that is twitter and then we all go back to our jobs and figuring out what is for dinner.

What do you want people to remember about your Twitter account?

That it never existed.

One Comment

Trackbacks

  1. We who are about to tweet: curtain call. « We Who Are About To Die

Comments are closed.

