Skip to content

We who are about to tweet: @NGodSavage.

June 29, 2011 \am\30 9:00 am

[In which we find out the Twitter philosophies of my most beloved follows.]

Twitter username: @NGodSavage
Real name: N. God Savage (probably)
Recent memorable tweet: “A pyramid of sheep.”

How often do you tweet? Do you limit yourself to a number of tweets per day, or to a certain time of day? Any other OCD-like tweeting tendencies?

At the time of writing it is 555 days since my first tweet, and I have 478 tweets. So I do 0.86126 tweets every day, or, perhaps more informatively, I tweet once every 1.16109 days.

What is your ‘follow’ philosophy? Do you follow everyone who follows you? Do you follow celebrities, lit mags, ex-boyfriends?

I try to follow people such that logging into twitter does not depress me. I get depressed easily. Here are some things that depress me: idiots, failed attempts at wit, politics, supposed ‘rules’ for writing, bandwagons, clichés, people who tweet every little detail of their tawdry little lives.

What is your @ philosophy? Do you tweet people back, engage in ‘chit chat,’ become annoyed when others do?

I don’t really have conversations on twitter, but I am not overly offended by people who do. I am, however, constantly amused by people who desperately tweet @ celebrities, as if having Stephen Fry respond to one of your tweets would be some sort of achievement.

What is your #hashtag philosophy?

I don’t really use them.

Do you obsess about number of: followers / retweets / favorites / unfollows / other?

No. I think I did, once, for about a week, but then I got over it. It’s very hard work to worry about your internet presence. It seems like a full-time job.

How do you think you come across to your followers? How would you like to come across?

I think, and hope, that I come across as extremely obscure and mildly amusing. In fact, I am trying very hard to be a twitter obscurantist. It is a niche that I hope to fill. Accordingly, my tweets are very often inexplicable. Sometimes I just copy and paste random chunks of text from wikipedia pages and tweet that.

What do you want people to remember about your Twitter account?

I want people to remember a sensation of gentle, pleasant, confusion, like you might get from watching a group of Japanese schoolchildren halfheartedly performing a surrealist play.

One Comment

Trackbacks

  1. We who are about to tweet: curtain call. « We Who Are About To Die

Comments are closed.

