Skip to content

We who are about to tweet: @kilakilakila.

June 30, 2011 \pm\30 5:30 pm

[In which we find out the Twitter philosophies of my most beloved follows.]

Twitter username: @kilakilakila
Real name: Brittany Wallace
Recent memorable tweet: “i try to be gentle when sharing links”

How often do you tweet? Do you limit yourself to a number of tweets per day, or to a certain time of day? Any other OCD-like tweeting tendencies?

I don’t have the Internet at my house, and I generally don’t use my cell phone often. So, I guess it’s easy for me not to over-tweet. I tweet sporadically; sometimes several times a day, sometimes not. Currently I am using the WiFi at a coffeeshop down the street from my house and The Complete Idiot’s Guide to Making Money on Wall Street (Second Edition) is sitting on a bookshelf in front of me.

What is your ‘follow’ philosophy? Do you follow everyone who follows you? Do you follow celebrities, lit mags, ex-boyfriends?

I follow Cher. She’s really funny to me. I follow writers that I recognize from around the block, my real-life friends, and a few lit mags. I try to keep up. I don’t think my exes really ever tweet, actually.

What is your @ philosophy? Do you tweet people back, engage in ‘chit chat,’ become annoyed when others do?

I try not to use @ very often, though I recall @ing Jordan Castro more than once… My tweets are all-inclusive?

What is your #hashtag philosophy?

I honestly don’t think I’ve ever used those. I mean, I never click on hashtags. I don’t understand them, I guess.

Do you obsess about number of: followers / retweets / favorites / unfollows / other?

Not really. That’s difficult to do without constant Internet access. I always appreciate a re-tweet, though. I’m going through a bit of a post-graduation crisis right now. I always appreciate a re-tweet.

How do you think you come across to your followers? How would you like to come across?

I don’t know if my followers read my tweets. They may think I am retarded, mentally ill, or an addict. I started using Twitter because I felt free to do whatever I wanted there. My father has eight younger brothers and sisters, so I have all of these aunts and uncles and young cousins who have friended me on Facebook. I can’t just status-update funny things about, I don’t know, drugs or whatever. That would seem obnoxious anyway. I feel comfortable tweeting a little obnoxiously.

What do you want people to remember about your Twitter account?

Oh, that’s a hard one. My tweets were funnier before I started getting into bath salts, I think. I decided to, um, get out of the tub for good though, and I think my brain is trying to repair itself slowly. I might be funny again soon.

“damn it i can’t apply to be a purina cat chow correspondent anymore”

I think that tweet expresses disappointment in a wholesome and memorable way.

5 Comments
  1. July 1, 2011 \pm\31 12:24 pm 12:24 pm

    i like that your icon is a sad face b/c even when your tweet is about something positive, i imagine your reaction to the news being ‘this won’t last very long’ or that the baggage that comes along with the good thing outweighs the benefits of said good thing. you’ve made me rethink if a thing can even be ‘purely good’. and i think that’s a good thing?

    • July 2, 2011 \pm\31 3:10 pm 3:10 pm

      this exactly happened to me and is partly why she’s one of my <3's

  2. July 1, 2011 \pm\31 12:38 pm 12:38 pm

    sweet

    felt high levels of interest throughout

    good job everyone

  3. July 8, 2011 \pm\31 12:43 pm 12:43 pm

    Brittany Wallace sounds like a really smart guy.

Trackbacks

  1. We who are about to tweet: curtain call. « We Who Are About To Die

Comments are closed.

