Skip to content

[Birthday Edition] We who are about to tweet: @tao_lin.

July 2, 2011 \pm\31 10:00 pm

♥ Happy Birthday, Tao. From your pals at We Who Are About To Die. ♥

[In which we find out the Twitter philosophies of my most beloved follows.]

Twitter username: @tao_lin
Real name: Tao Lin
Recent memorable tweet: “imagined mark ruffalo feeding jim carrey xanax through his ‘pee hole’ as part of the memory-erasure process #eslivetweet

How often do you tweet? Do you limit yourself to a number of tweets per day, or to a certain time of day? Any other OCD-like tweeting tendencies?

Average of once per ~20 hours maybe. I don’t limit myself, I think. I have a drafts email of tweet drafts in my Gmail where I paste Tweets I don’t feel satisfied with or don’t want to Tweet yet.

What is your ‘follow’ philosophy? Do you follow everyone who follows you? Do you follow celebrities, lit mags, ex-boyfriends?

I follow people whose tweets I feel consistently interested in and who I feel like I could be, or am, friends with IRL.

What is your @ philosophy? Do you tweet people back, engage in ‘chit chat,’ become annoyed when others do?

I like when people @ me. I @ people sometimes.

What is your #hashtag philosophy?

I like hashtags. I feel I haven’t used them as much as I want to in the future, in part because at some point I felt like I wanted to use them rarely.

Do you obsess about number of: followers / retweets / favorites / unfollows / other?

I haven’t found an easy way to see who has “favorited” my tweets. I look at “retweets” often. I don’t look at who has unfollowed me often.

How do you think you come across to your followers? How would you like to come across?

Like I delete my tweets sometimes and have problems sleeping.

Like I’m consistent and have a consistent prose style and am consistently surprising.

What do you want people to remember about your Twitter account?

That it’s consistent and has a consistent prose style and is consistently surprising.

One Comment

Trackbacks

  1. We who are about to tweet: curtain call. « We Who Are About To Die

Comments are closed.

