Skip to content

We who are about to tweet: @pompadoured.

July 2, 2011 \pm\31 6:01 pm

[In which we find out the Twitter philosophies of my most beloved follows.]

Twitter username: @pompadoured
Real name: Gene Morgan
Recent memorable tweet: “Some sort of flavor should blast me today.”

How often do you tweet? Do you limit yourself to a number of tweets per day, or to a certain time of day? Any other OCD-like tweeting tendencies?

I tweet 1-2 times a day. I don’t limit myself much, other than only tweeting when it feels important to share a life experience with random people. Sometimes a tweet will come across as too contrived or reaching, and I get disappointed in myself. I write, on average, one or two well-formed, shit tweets a day that I delete forever and do not publish. Sometimes, mostly when I’m drunk, the shitty tweets slip through.

What is your ‘follow’ philosophy? Do you follow everyone who follows you? Do you follow celebrities, lit mags, ex-boyfriends?

I follow people who have an honest voice and don’t annoy me. Celebrities annoy me because they usually don’t have an honest voice. I have followed some rappers in the past. Lit mags are fine, because I like seeing what my people are up to, and I follow some computer nerd shit for the same reason. I don’t follow my ex-girlfriends, because I rarely feel comfortable interacting with people that I’ve been sexually intimate with that aren’t my wife.

What is your @ philosophy? Do you tweet people back, engage in ‘chit chat,’ become annoyed when others do?

It’s nice to talk to people. Sometimes @ responses get weird, or come at awkward times so I can’t always respond like I’d want to. In general, I like talking to people more than I like talking at them. Other people talking doesn’t bother me.

What is your #hashtag philosophy?

I like it when other people use hashtags to deliver a punchline, but I feel dirty when I do it myself. Seems cheap and easy, like farting at the end of a sentence or something when I do it. Occasionally I’ll use a hashtag to acknowledge an event and give context.

Do you obsess about number of: followers / retweets / favorites / unfollows / other?

No. I favorite occasional things, but can’t honestly tell you who has unfollowed me, other than Zachary German (who tweeted a few years ago that he was unfollowing me), and can’t even tell you how many people are following me without going to my profile and probably taking a hit to my ego. Maybe I don’t look because I don’t want to feel like a loser-ass bitch. I am delicate and creative, and need whatever ego I can get.

How do you think you come across to your followers? How would you like to come across?

I’m not sure how other people view me based on my tweets. I hope I don’t come across as a jerkoff.

What do you want people to remember about your Twitter account?

Sweet avatars.

