Skip to content

We who are about to tweet: @nytyrant.

July 6, 2011 \pm\31 6:38 pm

[In which we find out the Twitter philosophies of my most beloved follows.]

Twitter username: @nytyrant
Real name: Giancarlo DiTrapano
Recent memorable tweet: “Or the way he wore a leather vest and ball gag. RT @parisreview: I admired the way he made drunk people talk. – Evelyn Waugh, on Hemingway”

How often do you tweet? Do you limit yourself to a number of tweets per day, or to a certain time of day? Any other OCD-like tweeting tendencies?

Sometimes often, other times not often at all. If  I’m depressed, I can’t even look at my phone so I have to be somewhat “engaged in life” to be able to tweet. I do not limit myself, but I delete a lot. I probably post-and-delete 10 times more than I let a tweet stay. And my tweets are still subject to deletion for up to a month, usually. Sometimes I know before I post a tweet that it won’t last for long. But maybe this is a special kind of tweet, since only a few people see it and then it disappears. It’s more fleeting and intangible that way. Twitter has definitely produced my first OCD experience. I look at twitter on my phone a million times a day.

What is your ‘follow’ philosophy? Do you follow everyone who follows you? Do you follow celebrities, lit mags, ex-boyfriends?

No, I don’t really have a rule on that. I feel like sometimes the people I follow suck but then they are funny once or twice so I just stick with them. A lot of times I will read something that someone wrote elsewhere online that I don’t like so I will go to twitter and unfollow them and giggle. I always get emails from people asking why I unfollowed them. I don’t respond to those emails. One time a writer I followed offered to buy me a drink. I told him I wanted a Jameson and Ginger Ale. He came back with a J&B and Ginger Ale. So I unfollowed him as we were chatting, me still drinking his gift. I refollowed him later on. I was like, just joking.

What is your @ philosophy? Do you tweet people back, engage in ‘chit chat,’ become annoyed when others do?

I would like to engage in chit chat and replies and stuff but I feel like it’s kind of rude for those that have to see them. But sometimes I stop caring about others and engage in chit-chat anyway

What is your #hashtag philosophy?

I like what @pompadoured said about hashtags. It’s like ending a sentence with a fart. But none of us mind the smell of our own farts so we don’t mind our own hashtags, I guess.

Do you obsess about number of: followers / retweets / favorites / unfollows / other?

I don’t really worry about that so much. In the beginning I would unfollow people who unfollowed me. It felt very junior high. The best way to judge your own tweet is if you lose and gain a large number of followers from it. That’s a tweet that’s really doing something. Shedding fuckfaces and gaining a bigger roots crew that’s not so touchy. It’s weird though. Whenever I see a list of “Twitterers to Follow” they are always the worst. Like there was some piece about NYC literary ladies to follow in some magazine and every single one of them was like, the absolute worst at it.

How do you think you come across to your followers? How would you like to come across?

Probably pretty stupid. I feel like I have a few types of tweets that go out. Poetic and languagy ones (which always seem forced to me and unnatural), jock/bro type tweets (which I think are funny because they are so stupid but they always reel in totally stupid followers), and then there are genuine tweets (these are rare). There’s an easy formula to get RTs, I think. Tweet something about current cultural phenomena, add some sex, and then some snark (that basically describes every Gawker post), and it’s like, bingo. My most retweeted tweets are the ones that are furthest from who I really am. I was obviously tweeting to please. I am not proud of those.

What do you want people to remember about your Twitter account?

That my icon/avatar looks like a yule log from a glance but when you get closer and enlarge that bitch you see that it’s a car on fucking fire so it’s totally like WHOA.

P.S. I want a new twitter that will allow us to delete other people’s tweets. I would love to see what tweets remain.

One Comment

Trackbacks

  1. We who are about to tweet: curtain call. « We Who Are About To Die

Comments are closed.

