Skip to content

We who are about to tweet: @grayamelia.

July 12, 2011 \am\31 9:32 am

[In which we find out the Twitter philosophies of my most beloved follows.]

Twitter username: @grayamelia
Real name: Amelia Gray
Recent memorable tweet: “I say the darndest things”

How often do you tweet? Do you limit yourself to a number of tweets per day, or to a certain time of day? Any other OCD-like tweeting tendencies?

I try and put an hour or two between tweets. If I tweet too much, I start getting real conscious that people are thinking I’m an asshole. I don’t mind if someone wants to unfollow me but I would mind if they were unfollowing me because I was an asshole. I write a bunch that I delete. I have a file. I’m obsessive.

What is your ‘follow’ philosophy? Do you follow everyone who follows you? Do you follow celebrities, lit mags, ex-boyfriends?

I generally don’t follow people who talk about business. These days I’m mostly following my friends who live in town. I’m getting more weirded out with the fake closeness of the internet and as I get more weirded out my follow list gets smaller. I do follow @uptownherd on twitter, we dated ten years ago, he’s a cool dude.

What is your @ philosophy? Do you tweet people back, engage in ‘chit chat,’ become annoyed when others do?

I tweet back sometimes but mainly because I don’t want to be rude. I always delete it all later because I want the permanent record to be free of chit-chat. Even if I’m like “yeah man” it seems too personal for public viewing.

What is your #hashtag philosophy?

I’ve got a couple but I tend to avoid them because I think it makes the statement more of a twitter-only statement and less of a universal statement. I mean if you guys are gonna put one of my tweets on my headstone, it had better not have a goddamn hashtag on it, is what I’m saying.

Do you obsess about number of: followers / retweets / favorites / unfollows / other?

I don’t notice follows or unfollows because I tweet using a Chrome plugin. It doesn’t show me favorites, either. I like seeing a retweet, though, it makes me feel less annoying. I think I was raised to believe that being funny was the same thing as being annoying, or maybe I’m just annoying by default. Freudian tweet thoughts.

How do you think you come across to your followers? How would you like to come across?

I don’t know. I had an ex who suggested that I was trying to present myself as more pathetic as a ploy. I’m just trying to be funny, though. I can make fun of myself all day for being a depressive sack of shit. My friend’s dad started following me and he said I was too dark but he can’t figure out how to unfollow or stop all the tweets from going directly to his cell phone, which, lol.

What do you want people to remember about your Twitter account?

It was the first Twitter account to become president.

One Comment

Trackbacks

  1. We who are about to tweet: curtain call. « We Who Are About To Die

Comments are closed.

