Skip to content

We who are about to tweet: @esotika.

July 13, 2011 \am\31 9:30 am

[In which we find out the Twitter philosophies of my most beloved follows.]

Twitter username: @esotika
Real name: Mike Kitchell
Recent memorable tweet: “i am a houseplant inside of my head”

How often do you tweet? Do you limit yourself to a number of tweets per day, or to a certain time of day? Any other OCD-like tweeting tendencies?

I would say I tweet between 0 and 20 times a day, depending upon certain circumstances.  If I am drinking and I am, for instance, watching something on my computer, basically everything I would be saying to someone else if I were not alone gets said to twitter.  Sometimes I intentionally “live-tweet” movies.  I also only really tweet from my phone if I am posting a twitpic or am quoting someone and I don’t want to forget it, due to the fact that I have a shitty old flip-phone.

What is your ‘follow’ philosophy? Do you follow everyone who follows you? Do you follow celebrities, lit mags, ex-boyfriends?

I will follow someone if I am interested in their tweets & they don’t post a million times a day.  I follow a couple lit mags, but mostly only lit mags that are run by people I “know personally” or lit mags that “post interesting links.”  I won’t follow someone if the only thing they post is links to their blog.  I won’t follow someone if when I go to check out their page all I see are @ tweets (which means I can see none of their “original content,” and like all platforms, it’s “original content” that I am interested in).

What is your @ philosophy? Do you tweet people back, engage in ‘chit chat,’ become annoyed when others do?

I will @ people if I want to have micro conversations.  I usually end up deleting all my @ tweets though, because I feel like they clutter up my profile or whatever.  I get annoyed when I see people @ing each other and it’s like 5+ tweets a time… at that point that shit should just be moved to email, or at least a proper chat program.

What is your #hashtag philosophy?

I kind of really hate hashtags.  Sometimes I will use an “ironic hashtag” but that’s only because I feel like there is some sort of potential there.  I get annoyed when I see hashtags that are used unironically, because I don’t really understand the point, seeing as it’s not like you can specifically ‘search’ your own twitter for these hashtags with any difference as you could just like, a word, or whatever, though I guess maybe I just don’t understand twitter who knows.

Do you obsess about number of: followers / retweets / favorites / unfollows / other?

Not really.  Before the email notification system went into effect, I had only figured out how to see things that had been retweeted like a month ahead.  Sometimes I feel shitty when I unfollow people, but then I feel really dumb for feeling shitty.  I don’t care if someone unfollows me, I don’t know it weirds me out to place importance on these things damn.
How do you think you come across to your followers? How would you like to come across?

I used to basically use twitter to post ‘witty one-liners’ or something, and then i would use it to freak out in like a really intense way, because there’s not really any direct feedback on twitter, whereas like if I had posted the same thing on facebook or whatever I would have to deal with like actual responses.  Despite the fact that my twitter is “public” and my facebook is locked, I feel like less people pay attention to me on twitter so I have slightly more freedom, or something, not that I’m prone to censoring myself on facebook.

I have no idea how I come across to my followers.  I guess maybe since I am prone to tweeting most while drunk, I might come across as drunk.  I would like to come across as a person who is doing something interesting on twitter, because twitter gets a lot of shit for being simultaneously pointless & ultimately taking over the world.

What do you want people to remember about your Twitter account?

My online persona is split between so many various platforms, usernames, and avatars (i think i literally have a different name/presence every where i am active online) that ultimately I’d like to be known as some sort of cross-platform, heterogeneous entity that exists in many forms but still coheres as a whole.  I want my twitter account to be a part of that.

2 Comments
  1. July 13, 2011 \pm\31 7:28 pm 7:28 pm

    kewl idea about heterogenous thing entity on many platforms
    also mike
    i recently noticed u werent following me anymore
    maybe because of the @-ing thing you mentioned here.
    ive started to use twitter more like i use facebook
    (for individual interaction just as much as individual-to-group broadcasting).
    its ok , i understand and I <3 U!!

Trackbacks

  1. We who are about to tweet: curtain call. « We Who Are About To Die

Comments are closed.

