Skip to content

Getting to know: mensah demary.

July 29, 2011 \am\31 10:11 am

[In which WWAATD asks vapid questions culled from various teen magazines to non-vapid, non-teenager types.]

Full Name: Thomas “mensah demary” DeMary

Age: 29 (or 30, depending on when this goes live)

Height: 6’2”

Currently Live: Millville, NJ (Daniel, my cousin, knows it well)

Hometown: Vineland, NJ

Instruments: Played the trumpet in middle school; gave it up when I got braces; now a trumpet sits atop a bookcase. It’s black–the trumpet.

Car: 2008 Ford Mustang. Black. The Batmobile.

Secret Talent: Penchant for changing my pen name on the fly, almost at random.

What is the best thing about your job? Between having to lay people off & worry about the state of US Manufacturing? Popcorn Wednesdays.

What was your most embarrassing audition moment? To join 5th grade chorus, I had to sing “God Bless America” with my (former) soprano voice. The director trembled during the moment.

If you could live in any past era which would it be and why? Harlem, mid to late 1920s. Because, being black in America (with the lynchings and stuff) notwithstanding, it seemed like the best, kick-ass time to be a black writer.

Who is your role model and why? James Baldwin. His prose, particularly his essays, was dense, though musical–and he had no problem throwing shots at people/things he didn’t like.

What do you do for fun? Stay up until 3 AM to work on Specter Magazine.

Do you have a good luck charm? Yes. My wedding band (peep game, gentlemen).

Wackiest fan encounter: I have no fans. I did have a prostitute solicit me once five years ago. At a gas station in Georgia after midnight. It was–wacky.

Before I die, I want to: Visit Tokyo, Amsterdam, and meet Junot Diaz.

When I fly I have to have: Chewing gum. My ears pop–often.

If I had to spend $10 at my favorite fast food joint, I’d order: A $3 cup of coffee, then take the $7 to buy cigarettes.

My coolest article of clothing: My entire sneaker collection.

My first financial splurge was: A Playstation 2 for my 19th birthday. I was doing big things back then.

When friends come over, we: Stare at each other for hours in silence. Then we realize we’re not friends; they’re random people I paid to come over to pretend to be my friends. Um…what are “friends” again?

Do you like to cook? If so, what? No.

TV show I never miss: Hoarders.

If you could interview any celeb whom would it be and why? Tyrese. I just want to know how he got out of his own way; his book lacks depth. I haven’t read it. In this case, judgement by book cover seems apt.

Anything about yourself you wish you could change? My weight, my smoking habit, my hair loss, my permanent frown, my…let’s move on.

I’ll eat sushi, but not: baked beans.

What are your best and worst subjects in school? History (best); Math (worst)

If you could be granted 3 wishes, they’d be…enough money to never work again; two kids and a nanny so she could raise our two kids & leave us to do cool literary stuff; world peace.

If I could gay-marry anyone in the world, he/she would be…Rion Scott. Totes gentle and kind, this man. We’d go half on pizzas and brews every night. Kick each other’s ass in Madden. Um… am I answering this correctly?

Where on earth are you most dying to go? Tokyo.

What’s the last thing that made you cry? My last major depressive episode (hey, we’re being real here, right?)

Do you ever wish you could just be a normal kid? All of the time. Awkward is overrated these days. I’ve been awkward my whole life. Shit ain’t cool.

What would people be surprised to know about you? Underneath the self-esteem issues, I believe I’m the greatest writer alive. Like Weezy, except for the tats. And possible VD. And criminal record. And declining rapping ability.

If you had to name one song as your theme song, what would it be? “We Major” by Kanye West. I could swagger to that song all day.

Have you had a starstruck Hollywood experience? Who was it with? I met Ruby Dee once. She was so short, I was struck silent. She had to have been 4’ tall. Maybe.

FAVORITES

Favorite Actor/Actress: Clive Owen

Favorite Movie: Lost In Translation…followed by all six Star Wars movies.

Favorite Body Part: My left ring finger (peep game, gentlemen).

Favorite Singer: Stevie Wonder

Favorite Song: “Superwoman” by Stevie Wonder

Favorite Candy: Peanut M&Ms

Favorite Philospher: Paul Mooney

Favorite Ice Cream Flavor: Vanilla

Favorite Sport: football (American)

Favorite Sports Team: Jets (New York)

Favorite Athlete: LeBron James. Yeah yeah, spare me the jokes.

Favorite Book: Big Machine by Victor LaValle

Cell Phone or iPod: both. iPhone.

Summer or Winter: Summer

Ice Skating or Gymnastics: Gymnastics. Greater chance to see falls and loss of pride.

LA or New York: LA

Skiing or Snowboarding: Snowboarding

Chocolate or Flowers: Apple products

Dogs or Cats: Dogs

4 Comments
  1. July 29, 2011 \am\31 11:14 am 11:14 am

    Gay marriage question. Uh….kind of creepy (no homophobe), but ok….wait, he said rion scott…I’m rion AMILCAR scott….he musta been talking about some one else…phew…#laughinguncomfortably

    • mensah demary permalink
      July 29, 2011 \pm\31 6:35 pm 6:35 pm

      hai rion

  2. August 2, 2011 \pm\31 10:54 pm 10:54 pm

    Hey, mensah, Junot is better on paper than in person and you know LA is where the swag is at!

Comments are closed.

