Skip to content

We who are about to tweet: @tfunktwits.

August 2, 2011 \pm\31 3:58 pm

[In which WWAATD finds out the Twitter philosophies of some lovely Twitter people.]

Twitter username: @tfunktwits
Real name: Tfunk Adelic
Recent memorable tweet: “Viral video of my mom hula hooping”

How often do you tweet? Do you limit yourself to a number of tweets per day, or to a certain time of day? Any other OCD-like tweeting tendencies?

I tweet whenever I have a free moment or a rampant thought in my head. This usually translates to “when I am at work” and “as I am trying to go to sleep.” I tweet as often as I have ideas, and never go, “oh, I have tweeted too much, better Rear Back.”

What is your ‘follow’ philosophy? Do you follow everyone who follows you? Do you follow celebrities, lit mags, ex-boyfriends?

I originally followed anyone that would follow me, because the idea that anyone would want to listen to my brain directly tickled me so much. Later though I trimmed down who I followed to a firm 666 people – and that’s partly a joke and also a way to keep my tweet family small enough to manage. I do follow some celebrities, but only if they have something genuinely funny to say. Or interesting. Or if I think I can get their attention.

What is your @ philosophy? Do you tweet people back, engage in ‘chit chat,’ become annoyed when others do?

Twitter is a waste if it’s not being used to talk to other people. When I’m not regurgitating a joke or horrible idea that’s been bouncing around in my head for awhile, I am talking to people. And anyone, too, I love the chit-chat. It feels like two or more people all grabbing the same live wire and struggling to discuss the weather. What I’m not a fan of though are the sometimes-occuring twitter drama callouts. I guess that kind of stuff is inevitable on the internet but I try to be genuinely positive in my social networking, especially on twitter. I can get caught up in politics just like anybody but for the most part I feel like if I didn’t make the person I @ smile or laugh or feel better about themselves I wasted an opportunity. I guess it’s my “clean up the internet policy,” a kind of pay-it-forward juche. Haha it doesn’t seem to be catching on that much…

What is your #hashtag philosophy?

#hashtags are what I use to extend my reach beyond the people I @ directly. If a trending topic or #hashtag is funny or interesting to me I will try to jump in and get my doggy vibes out into that puddle of interaction. It sometimes works.

Do you obsess about number of: followers / retweets / favorites / unfollows / other?

I think everybody goes through certain phases of Twitter: initial hesitation, attention-seeking, numbers obsession, etc. I think I am in the “comfortable with the cabal” phase where more followers is a nice perk (and a chance to get some folks hooked on a happy space dog) but for the most part I am happy to rest on my laurels. I think I am around 820 followers currently and that is simply amazing to me. That many people are actively jacked into my brain? Weird. I just got weirded out.

How do you think you come across to your followers? How would you like to come across?

I generally try to be friendly and fun and easy to talk to. Some people use Twitter Just For Jokes and I think that’s SUCH a waste. I try to engage new followers from time to time and get them talking to me – one time a new follower acted starstruck that I @’d them and I did everything I could to discourage that. I’m just a dude from texas with a lot of time on his hands, I don’t need to be seen as some elite-status dude.

I also like to push the idea that I am literally a dog astronaut. I stopped using rl pictures in tweets because it made me feel disconnected from twitter, ironically. I might be a cute twentysomething with good hair off the internet but as far as my followers and friends on Twitter are concerned I call Laika ‘Comrade.’

What do you want people to remember about your Twitter account?

When people think “Tfunk” I want them to laugh at a tweet of mine they starred or rt’d. If I can get you to snigger and snerk at something I tweeted a month ago, I am immortal. I sincerely think this is a new art medium. Being jacked in to my brain gives you access to thoughts and feelings and an intimacy I just can’t capture in poetry or prose or paint. I want people to remember the weird ideas and gross things I post when they are standing in line and the thought comes unbidden. That right there is an artistic experience they just had. I like to tweet “I am a tulpa,” but that isn’t a joke. Tfunk is floating above you right now in a low earth orbit and any moment from now you will remember him barking about boobs. I am literally sustained by that idea.

As a final thought: thanks for this crazy opportunity! I have been dying to talk about my twitter ideas.

Comments are closed.

