Skip to content

We who are about to breed: Stella Padnos-Shea.

August 15, 2011 \pm\31 12:00 pm

[In which WWAATD asks writers and other artist types about life as breeders/parents/kid-keepers.]

Name: Stella Padnos-Shea

1. What is your kid’s name, age?

My child is currently referred to by my husband and myself as “Buddy.” S/he currently resides within my body, due to debut in roughly two weeks. Gender and name to hit the air shortly thereafter.

2. How do you balance your time between parenting and writing?

I will take the liberty to substitute “pregancy” for “parenting” for this question. Sleep has become a priority, since I know it will be on indefinite hiatus. My brain don’t work as good, since it’s apparently being crowded out by other physiological activities. Writing, as it has been of late, takes place on the air-conditioned Q train in short bursts.

3. What is the best piece of advice about being a parent and a writer?

Sleep when the baby sleeps? No, that’s not it. They say–“it all goes by so fast.” Writing, the physical act of it and the creation of a souvenir, serves to slow it down. I hope. That being written, I should’ve recorded when the baby first kicked inside of me. That memento has already been lost, a true shame for someone who considers herself a “writer.”

4. How has your writing changed since becoming a parent?

I hope there’s enough of it to notice a change. More gravitas? Wisdom beyond my years? Truly, I hope that some degree of output continues so that I may revisit this question in the future and comment on how this too has radically shifted within my life.

5. Tell us something we don’t know about you and being a writer-slash-parent.

I am terrified– I have never before willingly engaged in an act which will so drastically change every aspect of my life. Will my writing disappear? Will I disappear? Will I become a nameless face, another “Mom” on an ungrateful adoelscent’s smartphone contact list? But I digress. I am (not just) terrified, and I want to keep writing.

2 Comments
  1. August 16, 2011 \pm\31 3:20 pm 3:20 pm

    best pic hands down

  2. Stella Padnos-Shea permalink
    September 10, 2011 \pm\30 1:35 pm 1:35 pm

    Thank you, Ani! When this post was posted, I was being discharged from the hospital with baby Mirabel, and so just discovered this today. I’m about 3 weeks behind in general, anyhow.

Comments are closed.

