Skip to content

We who are about to breed: Caleb Ross.

September 1, 2011 \am\30 8:00 am

[In which WWAATD asks writers and other artist types about life as breeders/parents/kid-keepers.]

Name: Caleb J. Ross

1. What is your kid’s name, age?

I’ve got a 2 1/2-year-old boy.

2. How do you balance your time between parenting and writing?

I’ve learned to focus my writing in ways that endless free-time pre-child simply didn’t force. Fifteen minutes before having my boy meant I could squeeze in one more episode of Aqua Teen Hunger Force. Fifteen minutes now means writing another page or two.

3. What is the best piece of advice about being a parent and a writer?

Quick trips to the crapper can suffice as a writing retreat. And don’t forget to “prep the page” by thinking about your stories before you actually sit down to write them. Think about them all day, when changing diapers, when feeding your kid, when playing with you kid, so that once you sit down you actually have something to write.

4. How has your writing changed since becoming a parent?

I don’t know that it has; I’ve always written about parent/child issues. I do know that I could never have written Stranger Will, a book that deals with eugenics and abortion, with child. I’m glad I got that one out of the way.

5. Tell us something we don’t know about you and being a writer-slash-parent.

I am forced to watch enough Nick Jr. that I’ve fooled myself into believing that writing a children’s show might one day be a good idea. My secret is that I think I would actually really enjoy doing that. My favorite show, by far, is Olivia. That’s an entertaining pig.

5 Comments
  1. September 1, 2011 \pm\30 3:47 pm 3:47 pm

    omg this series has the best freakin pictures i can hear my biological clock going boom boom boom

  2. September 1, 2011 \pm\30 10:51 pm 10:51 pm

    You know, Ani, I’d like to say that my child picked that book up himself, but I’d be lying. It’s like a “normal” parent forcing their child to wear collared shirts on school picture day; all just presentation. This one, however, he did all by himself: http://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=10150175846528339&set=a.53448448338.67578.725523338&type=1&theater (that’s a fb pic. I’m not sure if permissions will let you see it).

    • September 2, 2011 \am\30 6:17 am 6:17 am

      can’t see it :( are we fb friends, we should be friends, i will friend you and then get my procreation fix in your photo albums clicking like on everything

    • September 2, 2011 \am\30 6:18 am 6:18 am

      i mean that bald little head!

Trackbacks

  1. Stranger Will tour stop #56: We Who Are About to Die/Breed | Caleb J Ross The World's First Author Blog | calebjross

Comments are closed.

