Skip to content

We who are about to tweet: @jensenwilder.

September 21, 2011 \am\30 4:11 am

[In which WWAATD finds out the Twitter philosophies of some lovely Twitter people.]

Twitter username: @jensenwilder
Real name: Jensen Evan Wilder
Recent memorable tweet: “Whatever happened to smiling?”

How often do you tweet? Do you limit yourself to a number of tweets per day, or to a certain time of day? Any other OCD-like tweeting tendencies?

I tweet whenever I think I’m funny. Or whenever what I have just said to a real human being will make me seem fun and interesting to a wider audience. I also tweet whenever I have drawn a little picture, mostly just so that they are safe online.

What is your ‘follow’ philosophy? Do you follow everyone who follows you? Do you follow celebrities, lit mags, ex-boyfriends?

I tend to follow everyone who follows me. I’m always interested in finding out more about each new follower, so I tend to stalk them if they appear in my list. I did start off following celebrities, until I realised that most of them are boring. I think the most interesting people I follow are the people with around 1,000 followers. When it comes to ex’s, I never look at an ex’s feed. I don’t want to get into a game of ‘who cares less about who’.

What is your @ philosophy? Do you tweet people back, engage in ‘chit chat,’ become annoyed when others do?

I love chit chat. I reply to most of the people who @ me, sometimes there isn’t anything to say. Mostly I @ people when I fancy them. If I don’t @ you, it’s because I am shy. Get your friend to @ me.

What is your #hashtag philosophy?

My # philosophy is pretty lapse, I forget to add them. I have #traintimes for travelling from home to work each day. I always tag my drawings, so that I can call them up when I want to see them again, with #jensendrawingtweets. The way I see it, #’s are pretty pointless unless you’re watching something on tv and fancy finding out what other people think of it.

Do you obsess about number of: followers / retweets / favorites / unfollows / other?

I used to worry. Friends of mine who have more followers would say that I still worry, but I’m getting better. I held the amount of people I follow about 30 people below my follower count for a long time. Then I realised I was missing out on loads of inspiration, so I let go. Sometimes you have to let go. In the same way that when I notice people unfollow me, I have let it go. Otherwise I grieve and question my awesomeness. One day I will have to manage who I follow better, I don’t know how I’ll handle that.

How do you think you come across to your followers? How would you like to come across?

I’d like to come across as someone you would fuck. I’m actually more like someone your parents would like.

What do you want people to remember about your Twitter account?

I’d like people to feel about my account like I feel about 90’s music.

Comments are closed.

