Skip to content

Narcissism isn’t funny anymore, you guys.

October 3, 2011 \am\31 5:47 am

So I just started a postgrad course at a pretty traditional university. Actually, THE traditional university.

So far everyone here seems to be fairly normal, and quite serious about their obscure concentration.

So I get to repeat over and over that I focus on contemporary poetry. Which is fine, until someone looks blankly at you and asks ‘why?’.

The first several hundred times I told the questioner about the excitement of working without a canon or a critical safety net, etc. But this soon got boring, and I am in the business of making friends just now so I decided to lead with a JOKE. (Never a good decision around serious folk)

This time, talking to the DPhil studying some very old languages and religious history, I said ‘Well, obviously I’m such a narcissistic that I cannot conceive of a literary culture outside of my own existence’.

No laugh.

Tried the line again on a group of Mediaeval English MSt students.

No dice.

So there you go. I am learning already: narcissism is just not amusing anymore.

4 Comments
  1. October 3, 2011 \am\31 10:50 am 10:50 am

    It hasn’t been for a while. Unexpected bragadoccio, now that’s a different story…

  2. Caroline Crew permalink
    October 3, 2011 \am\31 11:06 am 11:06 am

    I’ll try and work out some lines with that for this evening, cheers.

  3. October 3, 2011 \pm\31 1:06 pm 1:06 pm

    “talking to the DPhil studying some very old languages and religious history

    Tried the line again on a group of Mediaeval English MSt students

    How on Earth did you come to the conclusion that the JOKE is humorless rather than the audience?

  4. October 3, 2011 \pm\31 1:08 pm 1:08 pm

    It’s discussions like these that will keep me from going to college forever, apparently. As if there are aren’t enough other reasons. :)

Comments are closed.

