Skip to content

We who are about to breed: BL Pawelek.

October 6, 2011 \am\31 8:27 am

[In which WWAATD asks writers and other artist types about life as breeders/parents/kid-keepers.]

NAME: BL Pawelek

1. What are your kids’ names, ages? 
Elijah James (named after Jim Morrison), 7.
Abbey Road (named after Edward Abbey/Beatles), 4.
2. How do you balance your time between parenting and writing?
Writing/creative always gets sacrificed to after the kids go to sleep at night. However, there are a lot of things that I would have never seen, never read, never experienced if I was not running with my kids.

3. What is the best piece of advice about being a parent and a writer?
For me, it was to open myself up to their world. ‘Goodnight Moon’ was my favorite book for about a year. Also, I grew up in a boy family – all brothers, all boy cousins, etc. It wasn’t until I was a 40 year old father that I read/watched Sleeping Beauty, Snow White, Cinderella, etc. I still listen to the soundtracks and like them.

4. How has your writing changed since becoming a parent?
There is no time for fat, for bullshit. Because of the limited time, everything has to be strong and count.
5. Tell us something we don’t know about you and being a writer-slash-parent.
Some writers think they were “meant to be” writers. Some writers have a passion for it.

I was meant to be a dad.

Comments are closed.

