Skip to content

We who are about to skip to the last page.

October 10, 2011 \pm\31 4:51 pm

Well this is about the bullshittiest thing we’ve heard in a long while.

Apparently, studies claim people like spoilers and would rather know the end in advance.

According to an equally-nuts NPR bit:

“The researchers have a few theories. One is that plot is overrated. Rather, it’s writing that counts. Another theory: knowing the ending makes a book easier to read and possibly more enjoyable. But whatever the reason, the researchers said you can now question whether surprise parties are worth the effort.”

Score one for the Cliff’s Notes company, we guess.

9 Comments
  1. October 10, 2011 \pm\31 4:55 pm 4:55 pm

    I like spoilers. I find that it helps keep my mind from wandering in the middle of the book.

    • October 10, 2011 \pm\31 4:59 pm 4:59 pm

      Shouldn’t a good book, movie, play, etc… keep you focused in the middle anyway?

      • October 10, 2011 \pm\31 5:33 pm 5:33 pm

        Yes, but sometimes through no fault of the author I am in a bad place for reading. Generally a second read-through is fine, I guess spoilers work on the same principal.

  2. October 11, 2011 \am\31 12:37 am 12:37 am

    I know this sounds anti-academic, but this study does not prove that people will enjoy a story more if they know the ending ahead of time. It does prove, however, that a reader or viewer will likely give higher ratings to a story when they know the ending ahead of time.

    What I think is being discarded is the idea that these participants are not reading or viewing these stories with the same intent as someone else. They are knowingly engaging in an experiment where they know that they’re going to be judging a story on a specific rating system. Maybe it’s me, but I feel that will inherently warp the experience and intent of the audience.

  3. October 11, 2011 \pm\31 7:06 pm 7:06 pm

    feel like knowing changes the experience one way or the other, like maybe for the better but maybe not, so it seems wrong, like unnatural or immoral or unethical, i feel sort of strongly about this (which is weird for me, feeling strongly about so very few things) feel like this is a ‘deal breaker’ like if my wife routinely sought out spoilers i’d fuckin divorce her

    • October 12, 2011 \am\31 7:55 am 7:55 am

      I agree. I got upset, but I’m still not sure why.

      RE: “Deal Breaker”. My now-wife spoiled the ending of the Green Mile in the first 15-minutes back when we were first dating. That movie came out in 1999 and I still won’t let her live it down.

      • October 12, 2011 \am\31 7:59 am 7:59 am

        maybe this is one of those defining, polarizing character traits, like beatles people vs. elvis people, spoilers vs. spoilt

  4. October 12, 2011 \am\31 8:04 am 8:04 am

    and p.s. i call herd-of-elephants-sized vat of bullshit on this too: “One is that plot is overrated. Rather, it’s writing that counts.”

    how do they explain all those popular shitty written paperbacks where ample curvy um, plot twists are the only redeeming quality

Comments are closed.

