Skip to content

Combat Suicidal Sundays Tactic #1Q84: Be kind of a big kettle.

October 23, 2011 \am\31 7:32 am

From The Fierce Imagination of Haruki Murakami in The New York Times:

  • “I remember it very clearly,” he said. “The coldness of the water and the darkness of the tunnel — the shape of that darkness. It’s scary. I think that’s why I’m attracted to darkness.”
  • “Concentration is one of the happiest things in my life,” he said. “If you cannot concentrate, you are not so happy. I’m not a fast thinker, but once I am interested in something, I am doing it for many years. I don’t get bored. I’m kind of a big kettle. It takes time to get boiled, but then I’m always hot.”
  • “But it’s not real.”
  • Murakami lifted the needle as soon as it was over. “A silly song,” he said.
  • “George Orwell is half journalist, half fiction writer. I’m 100 percent fiction writer. . . . I don’t want to write messages. I want to write good stories. I think of myself as a political person, but I don’t state my political messages to anybody.” […] “I am 99 percent a fiction writer and 1 percent a citizen,” he said. “As a citizen I have things to say, and when I have to do it, I do it clearly. At that point, nobody said no against nuclear-­power plants. So I think I should do it. It’s my responsibility.”
  • “There are many butterflies in Japan,” he said. “It is not strange to see a butterfly.”
Comments are closed.

