Skip to content

There you are I am.

November 5, 2011 \am\30 9:40 am

I fucking hate poetry but occasionally I become obsessed with one poem. I say I hate poetry but what I mean is I often have overwhelming feelings due to poetry. Like when you don’t think you love someone but you fill up to know that kind of you do. I’m stuffed full of this particular poem. Okay go, I’ll wait.

[…]

[…]

[…]

Yeah so Crossing the Bar by Michael Schiavo published in The effing Yale Review. The most unlikely poem in the most unlikely ‘review’ for a poorly-educated over-sharing irreverent savant like me. But this poem just does not stop calling me. Whenever poetry comes up in conversation, I gently steer us toward this poem. I thought of this poem at breakfast. I thought of it in front of a painting. I thought of it while in the ruins of a castle. (I mean, I was at breakfast / in front of a painting / in a castle, not the poem.) I thought of this poem today. I think I will think of this poem again at some point in life for a tiny reason or no reason or an overwhelming reason.


If you’re there, catch Michael Schiavo reading in New York with my (and your) beloved editor, Daniel Nester, at the Zinc Bar Reading Series this Sunday, November 6, 5:30 p.m., 82 W 3rd St. ❤

2 Comments
  1. Robin Elizabeth Sampson permalink
    November 5, 2011 \am\30 10:15 am 10:15 am

    Ani, even if this was the only poem EVER for you – you have very good taste. This is one of those poems – the kind you read over and over again – yeah, I went and read it during the […]s, and just bookmarked the page. Thank you for posting about it.

    • November 5, 2011 \pm\30 3:52 pm 3:52 pm

      j/k i don’t hate poetry

      glad you are enjoying this poem too robin (i almost said ‘my’ poem, i feel kind of possessive and exposed about sharing it hehe)

Comments are closed.

