Skip to content

Getting to know: Sarah Falkner.

November 11, 2011 \am\30 11:00 am

[In which WWAATD asks vapid questions culled from various teen magazines to non-vapid, non-teenager types.]

Full Name: Sarah Jude Falkner

Currently Live: The 5th Ward, Hudson, NY

Car: I have never possessed an automobile driver’s license but I own and operate 5 different bicycles even in the snow.

Secret Talent: Epilepsy!

What is the best thing about your job? it’s a lot of fun

What do you do for fun? work

Do you have a good luck charm? No, they only make me anxious I will lose them and then have bad luck.

Before I die, I want to: Do phowa, successfully.

When friends come over, we: get cat fur all over our asses from sitting on the couch that normally only the cats sleep on

Do you like to cook? If so, what? I used to like cooking more back when everybody talked about food less. I cannot predict very far into the future what I will feel like eating, and so I like to shop for and concoct a meal at the last minute. I hate to follow a recipe, it’s more fun if I can combine elements from two or more disparate cultures like, say, Thailand with Germany, and it has to be ready in about 30 minutes after I’ve first realized I’m hungry because I have hypoglycemia and will faint after about 35 minutes of being really grumpy. so the last successful meal fulfilling all those requirements involved chicken livers, lacinato kale, rattlesnake beans and pear vinegar. but i will just as easily eat oatmeal for dinner and not really care, and if i were rich i would just have sustainably-produced takeaway every day.

Anything about yourself you wish you could change? Yes!

I’ll eat sushi, but not: movie theatre popcorn

Where on earth are you most dying to go? Mongolia

What’s the last thing that made you cry? Hearing Carmen Amaya singing

Do you ever wish you could just be a normal kid? No

If you had to name one song as your theme song, what would it be? Pirate Jenny

FAVORITES

Favorite Actor/Actress: Louise Brooks

Favorite Movie: The Third Man

Favorite Body Part: It’s a dead heat between a cat’s paw and a woolly donkey’s ear; and any species’ REM-fluttering eyelids

Favorite Singer: Scott Walker when singing the songs of Jacques Brel

Favorite Candy: Pistachio Turkish Delight or sour green apple jolly rancher

Favorite Philospher: Subcommandante Marcos

Favorite Ice Cream Flavor: Avocado

Favorite Athlete: Secretariat

Cell Phone or iPod: speaking and listening and looking devices

Summer or Winter: winter and fall

Ice Skating or Gymnastics: flamenco dancing and Tibetan yoga

LA or New York: Berlin and Mexico, DF

Skiing or Snowboarding: snowshoeing and sledding

Chocolate or Flowers: coffee and mosses

Dogs or Cats: mammals, generally; cats, especially


Comments are closed.

