Skip to content

Pablo Neruda, meet Ethan Coen?

November 16, 2011 \pm\30 12:25 pm

A recent, random library search revealed filmmaker Ethan Coen [he of Lebowski, No Country and Arizona-Raising fame] is also a poet and author. And a fairly prolific one at that.

Among his titles are the short story collection Gates of Eden.

He also put out a book of poetry with the excellent title: The Drunken Driver has the Right of Way.

Also, there’s a book of plays: Almost an Evening.

The big question: Has anyone read these works?

My heart tells me they have to be good, but then again, this is the same heart that told me to buy all that stock in New Coke. It’s been led astray before.

5 Comments
  1. November 16, 2011 \pm\30 8:40 pm 8:40 pm

    I’ve read some of the stories from Gates of Eden. They’re better than James Franco’s, at least. Mostly, they’re enjoyable as portals into the Coen world of films — you can see their tendencies toward grotesques and saps.

    • November 17, 2011 \am\30 8:03 am 8:03 am

      Cool, thanks!

      Poor James Franco, all he ever wanted was to own the world.

  2. November 17, 2011 \am\30 6:34 am 6:34 am

    I own Gates of Eden. It’s an interesting read, because I am such a huge fan of the brothers. If they were stripped of their film-making credentials, however, I would have had fairly weak interest in this collection.

    • November 17, 2011 \am\30 8:04 am 8:04 am

      That was kind of my thinking. Good to hear. Thanks!

  3. Eric permalink
    November 24, 2011 \pm\30 10:21 pm 10:21 pm

    A friend of mine bought The Drunken Driver has the right of way. It was okay. I’m sure his stories are better.

Comments are closed.

